10 comments on “Final Hours Together

  1. Don, your piece today has thoughts racing around and around. And that doesn’t happen often! :-)

    Boy oh boy, your short piece has set off a box of fireworks here. And I am letting the display run its course (and trying to figure our whether to bomb your piece here – or move it to a blog). Politeness and not bombing will probably win. Not sure why this has sparked!! Just loving the connections and connections and connections!! Thank you!!

  2. Pingback: How does that make me real? Part I | Just me being curious

  3. Don, great piece! I never realized the young boy that ran away was Mark. How did I miss this, and where is your source? I’d love to know? What a gem this was!

    I often find when I become frustrated or blocked, I need to stop whatever I’m doing because I’m usually “trying” to do it on my own power. When I get back “in sync” with the Holy Spirit, things seem to align themselves, confusion goes away and fruit is quite miraculously produced. So much easier to stay yoked to Him.

    • To be entirely honest, it is a supposition of most scholars over the centuries. We know that Mark was a youth during this time who lived with his mother in Jerusalem, and we can easily see that the incident has no real place in the story he is telling here; it’s almost random. Yet it contains a level of detail that no one else would have been likely to know. That this youth was wearing a linen wrapper, for instance, that he had been caught up in the confusion of that instant and how he escaped… and more importantly it places Mark at the scene making the garden narrative an eyewitness account, which gives a motive for relating an otherwise embarrassing incident. My guess is that Mark was an eyewitness to other scenes, but he chose not to place himself in the narrative.

      • Mark did have a way of relaying incidents that were clearly embarrassing and humbling to the disciples. I don’t doubt at all that he included himself as well. Thanks, Don.

  4. I’ve often wondered why in John’s beautiful farewell chapters he didn’t include Jesus’ great angst in the garden. He surely would have seen the prayer and the drops of blood, especially since he was in the inner circle of the disciples. Do you think he felt it too personal, too vulnerable to show Jesus in this time of great pain? Or maybe his own pain of falling asleep in this moment hurt so much he couldn’t write about it. Any thoughts? John is usually so much more emotive.

    • Funny you should bring this up today… John is by far my personal favorite gospel and NT author. It strikes me that both in his letters and his gospel, not to mention Revelation, he makes a point of mentioning that he is an eye witness. My thought is that if he was sleeping, he didn’t witness those difficult prayers, so he didn’t testify… just a theory of course :)

Leave a Reply

