12 comments on “Our Great High Priest

  1. Don, easy enough to sit here in the comfort of my home and computer screen reading “faithfully”, nodding “righteously”, the amen of simple agreement – and then be stopped in tracks – one comfort zone zapped with your words: “Christians were being burned alive for fun and amusement”.

    Now re-run this passage, these words, this message! Yikes indeed! Encouragement? small understatement there.

    Thank you for that short sentence. Reality check deffo welcomed in these wonderful journeys of simplicity.

    • Thanks Paul, and boy do you raise a great point! Yes, it is easy to read these words and get all warm and fuzzy, but when we remind ourselves of the situation they were sent into; wow! It’s a jolt! And to think of the things we complain about, and struggle with compared to what they had to deal with… ouch! Makes me think I’ve got a lot of growing up to do right when I thought I’d “arrived.”

  2. This reminds me of the fact that Jesus is our Kinsman-Redeemer. Because Jesus walked in the flesh as you stated in your blog, He was able to feel everything that we have and will go through. He is our kinsman because He walked in the flesh. He connected Himself with humanity. He became our redeemer because He was able to redeem us from our bondage of sin. He paid the price for us by giving Himself for our sins. He paid the penalty for our sins. Instead of us having to die for our wrong doings, He died in our place–our substitute.

    What a marvelous, compassionate, all inspiring God we serve! Amen to that!

  3. It is funny. Everywhere I turn these days I find someone going over the Book of Hebrew. That includes my Bible study group, listening to J. Vernon McGee’s 5-year Bible study, my pastor’s sermon series, and now your posts. Obviously, there is something in that book God wants me to know. 🙂

    • I think we can all say that. I’m glad to hear that it is being taught more these days, since it has been seldom taught for so long, and is still rare in some circles

  4. Pingback: Our Great High Priest | A disciple's study

Leave a Reply

