12 comments on “Photo of the Week: November 25, 2015

  1. I’ve never been quite sure how pumpkin pie fits into a Thanksgiving meal, seeing as I have never been anywhere where I can celebrate Thanksgiving. Do you eat it with the turkey – or with ice cream? In other words is it savoury or sweet? You will contribute greatly to my education if you can let me know! Thanks for the fun of sharing your preparation time with us. I hope the day is as special as all the preparations suggest. God bless you

    • Thank you Mandy!

      Pumpkin itself is a savory, but pumpkin pie is a sweet dessert, and since you mentioned it, it is wonderful warm with ice cream, although that might be considered “off” by a Thanksgiving purist. Around this time of year, there are quite a variety of pumpkin desserts in addition to pies, including pumpkin ice cream, but the pie is the traditional one for Thanksgiving day.

  2. I love this season! It is so rich in our culture. Thanks for sharing the sweet potato pie. I made a breakfast casserole this morning, but the recipe is from Jan Karon’s “Mitford Cookbook & Kitchen Reader”. We’ve never tried a recipe from this book that we didn’t like. I hope you and yours have a joyful and content Thanksgiving.

  3. I tried that one year, however both my son and husband rejected it! lol- They knew right away that I’d did a switcharoo- both didn’t approve. However, all my daughters loved it- guess they are more adventurous! (I honestly can only sorta tell the difference!)

Leave a Reply

