Lonely Times

tumblr_loyde7pZ5C1qlzpr0o1_500

Most of us have times when we feel a sense of loneliness, a sense that we are on our own with no one to turn to and no one who cares.  Sometimes it might feel like the walls are starting to close in… life fades into a sort of grayish  hue.

These are times when it really helps to remember who it is that gave everything for us; the One who died so that we might live life to the full.  Even more, these are the times when we must remember who is was who rose again from the grave, and who it is that is there for us now.

Even in our darkest moment of despair, our Lord Jesus Christ is right beside us.  Will we turn to Him and feel His presence?  Will we give Him our cares and troubles?  Will we abide in His loving and everlasting arms?

If so, we will find the peace we seek and the end of loneliness.

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lonely Times

  1. As C.S. Lewis said, “the will must precede the emotions.”

  2. Debbie M. says:

    When ever I feel the “gray hues” coming on, I remind myself that the same power that raised Jesus from the dead abides in me. I have the resurrection (from gray, hurts, trouble, etc.) power inside of me. That always puts a smile on my face!

  3. bcaudle77 says:

    trouble times and lonely times can seem so long but to think in reality of what our God says, it will have been very short, that’s a great thought!

    Praise Jesus!

  4. Beautiful…please check my blog.

  5. kenzelsfire says:

    Interesting post to read, Don. I shared an excerpt from my memoir (in progress) yesterday.

    That night I wrote about was very lonely. I was 17. I got through it because God is good and his work in me was just beginning.

    What have I learned? It’s when we think we’re alone that Jesus is actually closer than ever…

Leave a Reply

