More of New Realities

Not long ago, on November 30, I posted an item called “Dealing With New Realities”, and even more recently, I reposted an item called “Do Dogs Go to Heaven?” Little did I know that these two posts would merge in a very real way for me. The November post was about our new dog, and some of the amusing things he had been up to. The second was a post I originally ran a few years ago about his predecessor, and the whole idea of whether or not dogs go to heaven, was an entirely rhetorical question. Today, I wonder about that question.12249575_10208066124999250_7096005697460658006_n

Tuesday night, our New Dog was quite himself; crazy. He was running around the house, jumping up on chairs, jumping off, jumping back up, and jumping from chair to chair… business as usual. Wednesday morning he was paralyzed.

Before you ask, no, nothing out of the usual happened. He didn’t fall, crash or get injured, but he was paralyzed nevertheless.

We spent Wednesday dealing with Vets, getting looked at, questioned, and billed. There were examinations, x rays, consultations and tests… and he was paralyzed. It seems he had a birth defect in his upper spine; it had only been a matter of time until this happened only nobody had known about it until it snapped; he was 2 years old. Nothing could have been done to prevent it; nothing could be to repair it.

My wife and I returned from taking New Dog (actually his name was Taz, although I always just him “Crazy Dog”) to the Vet for his final visit, and a sad one it was; it’s a very heartbreaking couple of days.

So, do dogs go to heaven?

There were many comments answering this question, rhetorical as it was, almost all of which said “Yes”. To be honest with you, I rather doubt it, but then Scripture doesn’t say one way or the other. I know that many quoted passages that mention lions lying down with lambs, but then those are apocalyptic elements in apocalyptic passages; this is also true of Jesus on the white horse, but today, I hope you’re right, and I’m wrong.

Of course you do realize the implications if you really are right, don’t you? Here’s a thought for you to think about over the hamburger you are planning to have for lunch, or the chicken that is on the menu for dinner tonight: When you arrive in heaven expecting to be greeted by your faithful canine friend, you might just be greeted by a huge number of ticked off cattle, pigs and chickens, not to mention Thanksgiving turkeys instead!

OK, yeah I hear you… But they do say that’s it’s healthy to keep your sense of humor on a sad day.

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to More of New Realities

  1. Wally Fry says:

    Gosh, I’m really sorry for that Don.

  2. etaxwiz says:

    So sorry for your loss.

  3. Hello, Don! Did you put Taz dow? I am so sorry for the poor thing. Get another one soon. God bless.

  4. Julie Harris says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

  5. Tom says:

    May God give you peace and comfort with a new dog.

  6. So sorry about your pup. I was never a dog person a dog person, but fell in love with a needy little rascal who has made me rethink my theology on heavenly pups as well. Lol.
    I don’t know about mad cows, but I’m thinking all our thinking won’t matter much.
    But hugs to you all. 😔

  7. lunaviernes says:

    Don, I am so sorry. For what it’s worth, I believe we will have dogs and cats in heaven, since as created beasts without free will they are innately righteous. But whether we know them as our pets or not, I can’t say. Still, one cannot enjoy the pure unadulterated trust and love of a dog without realizing that God must have taken great enjoyment in its creation as our faithful companions. Why then, would Heaven not be filled with them??? That’s my thought, at least, though you are correct that without sound scriptiure, we can only guess.

  8. Cate B says:

    I’m so sorry Don. It is a hard thing to face. Hugs to you and Cathy.

  9. sorry for your loss, you did make me laugh though at the end.

  10. Mike B. says:

    I am also sorry reading this. Your reflections share your love for God and are thought provoking as is your post today. This is quite an unexpected challenge to face. Thanks for sharing your story and I pray for all involved.

  11. Yes reality is that I miss the little guy and most humans find comfort thinking that they will be with their beloved pets. Either way – I know that he is in a better place and it is good to imagine that he is funning through a big open field – not paralyzed any longer.

Leave a Reply

