Reaching for a New Frontier

Here we are on a Saturday morning in February; Ronald Reagan’s 105th birthday as it happens…

I remember that only because Reagan’s birthday is the day after my Dad’s (oh, and mine). This is not a post about birthdays, however. This is a post about… well… I’m not really sure what it’s about. I always seem to write entirely random posts when I’m “in between”. Welcome to the phase in between series of posts!f5f8d617533449.562cbf66211d2

I enjoy doing series of posts, and usually these go through books of the Bible. I like to do those for two reasons: The first reason is that I don’t sit down to write a post without any clue of what to write about, kind of like right now. The other is that by going through books of the Bible, I end up covering pretty much everything at one time or another, and at least for me, that keeps things interesting.

It isn’t that I don’t know what I plan on doing next for I know exactly what is next, it’s just that I don’t want to start off a new adventure on a Saturday! Hey! Now I have an idea for this post! I’ll tell you what’s coming next: an entirely new series of posts… of yet to be determined length! Very exciting!

Getting a grip now…

Can I get a “do over” on that first part? OK, getting real in 3… 2… 1:

Happy Saturday morning everyone, and welcome to another thrill-packed post here at The Life Project! Boy, do I have some exciting news for you; we are about to embark on an all new adventure into the great beyond, where no man has gone before, to the final frontier of exploration…

And, what makes this adventure even more thrilling is that it is a topical adventure of discovery and exploration. No one and this includes your humble correspondent knows for sure where we will end up, what we will find along the way or what theories we will prove or dispel…

(I might need another “do over”)

We are going to discover what, if anything, it means for us to have been made in the image of God.

OK, why are you just staring at me with blank faces? (Maybe writing while listening to the “Spike Jones Greatest Hits” is a bad idea!) If you aren’t familiar with Spike Jones, congratulations, that means you aren’t old. He was a favorite of my father.

The image of God; Imago Dei… it’s a big deal, actually, but what exactly is it, and why is it a big deal?

Ah yes, that is what we are going to search for and hopefully discover.

I can tell you very quickly what I learned in Seminary: It’s not that big of a deal. I learned that it has nothing to do with our physical form or essence because God is Spirit, and a spirit has no form; you can’t see a spirit, so it has nothing at all to do with what we look like, or with our bodies or anything like that. It means something spiritual, something they couldn’t quite seem to put their fingers on, a sort of mystery. Oh yes, and that human life is sacred.

Now to be fair, my little thumbnail is a bit over simplified, and when you put it all into academic-ese and fill about 10 pages, it sounds a little better, but it isn’t much more meaningful that what I just wrote, and quite honestly, I never really bought it. Actually for way too long, I’ve intended to get into it, to study it and do the research… one of these days. Monday is going to be “one of these days” for me, and I’d like to invite to join in the adventure. For the purposes of this adventure, nothing is off limits, there are no stupid questions, no taboos, and I don’t know anything because I am going to forget everything I already think I know on the subject; we will run headlong into whatever the Scriptures have to say, and let the chips fall where they may.

Are you in?

9 thoughts on “Reaching for a New Frontier”

  1. I am looking forward to this series, because like you, I also believe that our creation in God’s image IS a big-deal. It is what separates humans from and makes us distinct from the animal-kingdom, because even though we share much of our anatomy and physiology with animals, we are more that just a “higher-animal”. I also believe that our physical-bodies bear God’s image also.

    Blessings!

    Steve

      1. I have also written about this topic (Image and Likeness…), so it will be interesting to compare notes and see if you come to the same conclusions that I have, which have been reinforced by my in-depth study of John 1:1-3, 14.

        Blessings!

        Steve

  2. An accurate understanding of this topic is crucial to my ability to carry-out my ministry. Christians with a more Gnostic-view of God’s image in mankind could never minister to nudists in the way that I do.

    Blessings!

    Steve

Leave a Reply

