Meanwhile, Back in the Garden…

Whew, I don’t know about you, but I am sure glad to be back here in the Garden; Corinth has some great architecture, but what a crazy town it was! Here it’s so much more peaceful and, well… sane.

I need time to think, because this is getting a little harder, at least for me, because we have nailed down some facts, but those facts raise an awful lot of questions. Here’s what I mean:MV614 004

I think it’s fair to say that we’ve established that humans were created by God in His image. We’ve also established that Scripture teaches that both male and female are created in God’s image. Well that is all well and good, but male and female look exactly alike and completely different… and I’m having trouble processing the information. Here’s another one: If I am created in God’s image, does that mean that if I look in the mirror I’ll see exactly what God looks like?

Well I for one simply can’t believe that; surely He is better looking!

In the past, I’ve gotten around this problem by saying that “there is something in our human form that is representative of the nature of God,” and I’ve always gotten by saying that but only because nobody ever dared to ask the obvious question: What is that “something”?

Before I can try to figure that out, I have more questions flooding my brain…

What does God actually look like?

Didn’t Jesus say that God is spirit (John 4:24)?

Aren’t spirits invisible to the human eye?

Do spirits have a physical form?

Has anyone ever actually seen God?

Aren’t we just back where we started?

Didn’t Jesus say that if you’ve seen Jesus you’ve seen the Father (John 14:9)?

So then doesn’t all of this really mean that being created in the image of God is just some kind of a theological/spiritual/abstract thing after all?

Anybody ever read or watch Poirot by Agatha Christie? Isn’t this where Poirot would go off by himself to use his “little grey cells” and think awhile?

Yes, I think that’s where we are right now. Lucky for us, we are back in this beautiful and peaceful Garden; let’s think for a bit; maybe we missed something. If anybody has an idea, this would be a good time to speak up.

See you next time!

Don’t forget the Kitchen Table Conversation about Justice at Church Set Free!

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Bible and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Meanwhile, Back in the Garden…

  1. peter the insignificant says:

    He is Spirit and so are we….been eagerly awaiting for your post on this. 🙂

  2. paulfg says:

    Little Monk and I were talking about the bible and how “actually” precise and correct in every letter, punctuation and sentence. And the phrase “the signature of … ” came up. That inevitably over centuries of languages and revisions, what we read today is not the “actual” as it was originally put together. But – the “signature of God” remains. I have never had that image in my head – but it makes a lot of sense to me. When I add my signature to anything I wrote, a cheque that I sign, a document I confirm – I am saying: “this is me.” And yes – my signature can be forged. But if you sat down and waded through all my blogs (!) – my “signature” would be present.

    When we “nail down” God and the precision of image and definition, I prefer the “signature” of God rather than “the one and only” we must all agree. That’s my garden musing so far 🙂

  3. Tom says:

    I agree with the idea that God is spirit and so are we. Our bodies are just temporary and made of this temporary earth. It is the spirit that really makes a person a person and separate from animals. Enjoying your study. Keep up the great work and the good questions. Very thought provoking.

  4. Well, you have my brain cells bubbling, especially thinking about Jesus’ words – and we don’t even really know what he looked liked, except that he was human in form. And we are, if I’m not mistaken, given new bodies upon our resurrection. Bubbling, bubbling…

  5. pipermac5 says:

    “So then doesn’t all of this really mean that being created in the image of God is just some kind of a theological/spiritual/abstract thing after all?” plays well into the Gnostic view, but words like “hand”, “face”, “hand”, “back” and “finger” of God paint a very-different picture. A “voice from heaven”, as when Jesus was baptized, doesn’t come from a formless-spirit. Jesus said “And the Father Himself, who sent Me, has testified of Me. You have neither heard His voice at any time, nor seen His form”. (John 5:37)

  6. Matt Brumage says:

    I leave you guys for a whole day, and look what I miss! Wow.

Leave a Reply

