11 comments on “The Image of God and Modesty, part 1

  1. You’re so right. We judge other by our own culture, our own story, our own experience. I was in Thailand, at the street market, and two German women undressed on the street to try on clothes. The conversation ensued with them saying we were silly for thinking anything wrong with showing the human body. It was, after all, God’s creation. I’m really enjoying where you’re taking this. But it reminds me, too, how quick I am to judge others by my perceptions of what’s right biblically.

  2. The context MUST have a bearing on our understanding of this passage. 1 Timothy is within the greater context of all of Paul’s Epistles, which is in the context of all of the Apostolic writings. They all have a bearing on our understanding because of the Unity of the Scriptures.

  3. This was a very interesting scenario. I think I am looking at it from “left field” with Matthew 18: 6-7, “Whoever causes one of these little ones* who believe in me to sin, it would be better for him to have a great millstone hung around his neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea. Woe to the world because of things that cause sin! Such things must come, but woe to the one through whom they come!”

    I am not saying per say they were immodest but if their actions caused any of your students to think impurely or act impurely, then maybe an issue might arise. Just a thought, no judgment. I think it would bother me if I was one who jumped in with no clothes and offended one of your students even though it was not my intent.

    • I get what you’re saying Mike, and there is certainly a point to made in that direction. In this case, I didn’t have the impression that anyone was having an issue of stumbling or that sort of thing. If you haven’t seen something like this it may be hard to understand, and it’s not easy to describe, but 30 maked people has quite a different impact that one attractive naked person would have…

  4. Out of curiosity, was there any conversation with regards to the women in your group about Paul’s disallowing gold and pearls in church? I know of few women who don’t wear all kinds of jewelry, and don’t make the connection. Now, obviously, I’m not saying that it isn’t allowed, but in the context of your conversation, and the reading, I was curious if it was brought up, or of they consider that as no longer relevant, while feeling the “modesty” issue as irrelevant.

    Personally, I think the Puritans (and others of that ilk) have done America a great disservice that lingers well into today’s culture. I remember one time, coming home from a hiking trip, I passed through Bethlehem, Pa, just at about noon. The bells of a church on the highway pealed out the hour and, since I hadn’t been to church, I stopped. There I was, just off a hike, in t-shirt and hiking pants, walking into a strange church for services. As soon as I walked in everyone stared at me, and the mumbling began. Well out of dress compared with everyone else (in their “Sunday best”), I thought how at my church that dress had been given up decades ago. I grew up in a mill town and we were used to the men stopping on their way home, just out of the mill, with layers of mill dust all over them and their clothing.

Leave a Reply

