Photo of the Week: February 24, 2016

1114 093

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
Image | This entry was posted in Photo of the Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Photo of the Week: February 24, 2016

  1. I feel tired looking at this photo. The path winding away and down makes the path I’m travelling seem endless. Will I really make it? But then on the side of the path, there is a bench. It’s a bench that would be under the cover of leaves in the late Summer and Spring. I think that would feel more hopeful. Pilgrim’s Progress comes to mind…keep going. Keep following the path and you’ll get out of the forest and make it to the river. And then I feel Jesus’ hand taking mine and leading me on…”You’ve had a little rest. Now let’s keep going. The “let’s” is comforting, telling me that He will be with me. He is leading the Way, and He won’t leave me until I get there.
    Thanks Don.

  2. Trees and a path to who knows where – just makes me want to explore. One of my favourite themes – who knows what the future holds? Only One – and the path is wide enough for two.

    • Don Merritt says:

      Yes! I always love pictures of pathways; they seem to encourage our imaginations to explore, to expand our horizons in a wonderful way. This one is quite something for me because of the pathway. It runs through Thomas Jefferson’s front yard; to the right is the most amazing view, overlooking a broad valley, you can see for miles on a clear day. To the left is his home Monticello. Some of the greatest figures of early US history strolled along this pathway; what did they talk about?

Leave a Reply

