Here or at Don’s place

In his great post of earlier today, paulfg (Just Me Being Curious) commented on something I posted recently here on The Life Project, an idea that I’ve been kicking around to increase the level of community among Christian bloggers. In the original post, I mentioned that putting together a group of bloggers via Skype as a fellowship or accountability group or a small group study… or all of the above. Before I ended the post, I threw out an idea that came to me as I wrote: Anybody interests in a small study of MarK? And Susan Irene Fox spoke up with a “Yes” reply. In Paul’s post today, two others quickly said yes to being in a group conversation, and after seeing that, I thought it was time to send out a little invitation:
Hey everyone, do any of you skype?
Would any of you be interested in becoming part of a small group on skype, periodically for fellowship, conversation, Bible study, or…? (Suggestions very welcome).
Please consider yourself invited!
Let me know, either by leaving a comment or by email at: lifereference@gmail.com and please let me know your time zone.
By the way, if you have never used skype before, it is free, it is easy and all you need is a computer, internet connection, and an inexpensive web cam and microphone (mine together cost about $25 total.) I really hope to hear from you!
Here’s Paul’s post, in which he (an experienced skype user, tells about how much of a newbie I was the first few times he and I visited on skype; if I can do it, so can you!

Just me being curious

Blogging brought me a bunch of wonderful people. Blogging also extended my comfort zones hugely! Blogging has changed me. Because God makes no distinction, that I can see, where we gather in His name.

Church is still often “the building”, and “the services”, and “the congregation”, and the turning up and signing-in. Nothing wrong with that – unless it is the whole – not just part of this “relationship thing” – like in the “who is your relationship with?” thing.

Who is your relationship with? The familiar crowd on a Sunday you see through the week (or don’t)? The minister, pastor, cleric or collar? The routine, the habit, the locality? Where does “God and you” transport to other relationships, other communities, other formats and settings?

Blogging, for me, became community became skype fellowship. First one other blogger, then another, then a local minister, then some more bloggers. The odd thing I have…

View original post 684 more words

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Here or at Don’s place

  1. Yes and yes again! Pacific TZ

  2. gaustin00 says:

    thanks for invite but my plate is already full

  3. pipermac5 says:

    I would love to be part of your Skype community, but it isn’t feasible for me because of the internet-bandwidth requirement. I connect my desktop through my smartphone WIFI, but its throughput can be pretty dismal. Sometimes I even struggle to post to my blog because it is being cranky. If I had a better connection, I would be IN in a heartbeat.

    Blessings!

    Steve

  4. Tom says:

    It sounds great and I would love to do it but I am on a very limited internet usage plan. Thanks for the invite.

  5. Tony Fallon says:

    Occasional Dropper Inner probably …. Thanks.. Eastern

  6. Meredith says:

    Don, count me in. Central time zone.

  7. Roos Ruse says:

    A good idea I would support, but I can’t Skype with my current ISP.

  8. paulfg says:

    Love you, brother! ((hugs))

  9. Pingback: Skyping Fellowship – An Invitation | Church Set Free

  10. Pingback: Susan Irene Fox

Leave a Reply

