15 comments on “Jesus Teaches in Parables

  1. “Can a mentor (disciple) work with that soil and remove the rocks that are in the soil of a “younger” brother?”

    And as both work the soil the younger brother allows the mentor to find their own hidden rocks – if the mentor allows it (which is just disciples at play)

    • Funny you should mention that: At one point in Matthew’s account, the disciples asked about the very same thing you mention, and the aswer was (short version) that people who are disposed to hear the message will get it, and those who are not so disposed won’t understand anything He said because they don’t want to.

  2. I wrote a book last summer about a composite man who lived through most of Jesus’ parables over a period of 45 years ~ “The Samaritan’s Quest”. Although sometimes it rank in the 1000s, I have often seen it rank in the 20s in its category. (Rankings change by the hour at Amazon). I had one editor of two religious magazines buy a copy, but tell me, “You understand I don’t have time to read it.” Two days later she contacted me and said, “I couldn’t put it down,” then ordered seven more copies for family members.

  3. I wish Jesus had brought up seeds/plants that exist in the desert; after many months, if not years, of scorching dry conditions, a little bit of rain will nourish and encourage flowers you never knew were there.

    In the examples of rocky soil and plants choked out by weeds, is all hope lost?

    My mother was Episcopalian; my father was raised Baptist. They found common ground in the Presbyterian Church because of the teachings on the ‘chosen few.’ They believed people were pre-destined to be either good (read: saved) or bad (read: condemned). Because of my less-than-exemplary behavior in college, my parents thought I was lost…seed sown on rocky soil. Truth be told, I believed it myself and never felt I belonged in the presence of God.

    I am now 60 and believe that I am finally bearing fruit. Throughout my life there have been glimpses that God was working in my life, but for the most part, I was choking on weeds.

    I will not find fault with the teachings of Jesus, but I think there is evidence elsewhere in His teachings that, despite Presbyterian doctrine, no one is lost and can not be found. Some seeds thrive in poor soil.

    I believe there is hope for us all. God, forgive me if I am wrong.

      • “I wish Jesus had brought up seeds/plants that exist in the desert; after many months, if not years, of scorching dry conditions, a little bit of rain will nourish and encourage flowers you never knew were there. ”

        Though out of context, the following came to mind:

        Job 14:8-9 (NIV)
        8 Its roots may grow old in the ground and its stump die in the soil,
        9 yet at the scent of water it will bud and put forth shoots like a plant.

Leave a Reply

