In the Garden

041914 020-LR

Today, more than most days, is about a garden.  It was a garden where the great event took place, the event that both confirmed and changed everything, for you see, that garden tomb is empty!  In a sense, our rebirth took place in a garden.

I can’t speak for anyone else, but for me there’s no better place to meet our Lord in prayer than in a quiet garden.  To me, it seems almost like going back to the place where humanity was created…

There’s an interesting and refreshing combination of nature that consists of God’s creation, and Man as shown by the tending of the garden that strikes me as significant.  It’s like teamwork; when you take God’s part and Man’s part and combine them together you end up with something wonderful.

Raw nature is awesome to behold.  Great cities built by men over many generations can be humbling and inspiring as well, but a well-tended garden is a combination of the two.  Armed with knowledge that this is not only what God intended in the first place but what  He calls us to in the present day, can there be anything more inspiring than a garden?

Yes, a garden… Where it all began, and where it all began again. A garden, where it begins anew every day!

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In the Garden

  1. Kitsy says:

    Just as in the garden of humanity; we plant seeds and God nourishes and nurtures them and, God willing, they grow into faith and belief.

    I mention this briefly in “Hunch up close to Jesus,” but years ago, in a guided meditation, I found myself in the Bishop’s Garden of the National Cathedral. I was instructed to look around and see if anyone were there; I saw Jesus sitting on a bench at the end of the rose garden. He beckoned me and gestured for me to sit at His feet. He said, “Don’t worry or be afraid; you are Mine.”

  2. I’m a hiker, to me the place I am closest to God is in nature, where His creation grows unhampered, and unkept, by man. especially on a mountain top, where I can look out onto His creation and see it in all of its glory.

Leave a Reply

