13 comments on “Naked Before God, part 2

  1. I remember being taught this concept as a child. Perhaps one reason I really love Psalm 139. I taught my Faith Formation classes about this last year, at first it frightened them! Looking forward to your next post.
    Laurie

  2. So, you’re an advocate for spiritual “streaking” before our Master; running through His courts with praise, and nothing else? I’m eager to hear the practical application because this sort of thing done with each other, corporately before our Master truly is terrifying. I’m not sure I could do it, even among others I believed were genuinely practicing it. I’m ashamed to say it, but it’s true. I have a lot of maturing and growing to do first, because I know it’s not possible to become “clean enough” to do it without shame. I will simply have to get to a place where I can drop the shame and come forth filthy among my spiritual family for my Master to cleanse. It gives me chills, and not the good kind. I think a corporate experience of such shamelessness would need the insight and direction of Paul’s discussion of “food sacrificed to idols” in 1 Corinthians; practically speaking. More shivers. Gee, Don, thanks for bringing THAT up. Now I’ll be distracted all afternoon!

  3. Pingback: “Naked Before God, part 2” 4/05/2016 Written by Don Merritt | God's group

  4. “extreme measures to redeem us–arms wide open.” Huh.
    You know, several thoughts run together on this:
    1. As a teenager, my church asked me multiple times to play Jesus in the Easter play. Once or twice, I was crucified and got to wear a towel for a loin cloth. I was glad for it, but I’ve always thought Jesus was crucified naked. Hence the women “standing at a distance” and not up close.
    2. If he was crucified naked, how does that relate to the “cover up” at the fall?
    3. Does he, in his humanity, bear our nakedness before the Father while bearing our sin?
    4. Does he, in his deity, reflect God’s willingness to become 100% transparent with us?

Leave a Reply

