11 comments on “The Word of Life

  1. Lofty – yes, but John is asserting Jesus Christ’s true-humanity, that He was a real MAN, that He was God revealed in human-flesh, who he had heard, seen, and even touched. John first revealed Christ’s humanity in John 1:14. “And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth.”

    Blessings!

    Steve

  2. I like these letters of John’s. Considering he was the youngest of the 12 original apostles, he seemed to be the one most anxious to learn from Jesus, the one most introspective and last to speak, the one closest to Jesus’ heart.

  3. I look forward to it! I certainly appreciate the Word of Life because even when you read it on a blog the power of the Word still resonates. I appreciate these posts very much and even though I spent 1-1/2 hours in the Word today (for information purposes only), I can still say that reading the Word other places still moves my heart. It does because it is the living, breathing Word of life!

  4. Was John closest to Jesus’ heart? That I don’t know. I just know my mother had myself and my five brothers and sisters all convinced that “I am her favorite.” It became a family joke.

    What we do know that Jesus’ love was so important to John that he stood at the cross as Jesus died. It is an odd thing. Most men proudly proclaim the love of their sovereign as an article of pride. Yet John’s humility is unmistakable. At the cross, John emphasizes he stands with the women. He is not there for battle or out of bravery. He is there to grieve with the women.

    What John asks us to do is to see Jesus as he saw Him. He wants us to love Jesus too.

Leave a Reply

