8 comments on “Come Into the Light

  1. Reminds me of The Gospel of Thomas: “When you rid yourselves of guilt and shame and tear off your old rags and trample them beneath your feet like children. Then you’ll see the Son of He who is the living God.”

  2. Here’s another perspective on what you’re saying. Walking in the light is walking in reality. But we live according to our perception of reality. Jesus is the light that shines in the darkness but we don’t comprehend it because we come blinded by the god of this world (John 1:5; 2 Cor.4:4). Confessing means to say the same thing as (God). When we confess that we are in darkness (sin, being mistaken), our eyes are opened to the light. As we walk in the light, the truth makes us free (John 8:31-32). The thing is, God didn’t move in or change; we changed! The miracle is that our eyes are opened by His Spirit in us. And to the degree we walk in His light (in fellowship with Him and with each other), we are purified from our former deception and blindness.

    Btw, I’m glad you’re covering John’s epistles. They are so rich in understanding our communion in Him in love! Blessings.

  3. You know, I just this moment connected this to what I do on a daily basis; I frequently cringe and look up and say, “Oh, I’m so sorry,” immediately after saying or doing something I know I shouldn’t. It’s as if the Spirit gives me no license at all, and convicts me the second I do or say something stupid. I have no choice but to repent; how else could I take another step?

Leave a Reply

