Listening Skills

929 072-LR

Most people would agree that listening is an important skill; most of us aren’t all that good at it.  It’s hard to communicate when all of the communication goes only one way!

I’m not talking about listening to other people, however; I’m talking about communicating with God.

To be entirely accurate, most of us don’t spend much time in prayer talking to God… we’re busy people after all.  For those who do take the time to speak with God, do we ever give Him a chance to contribute to the communication?

Probably not.

You know, there is that “still small voice” people sometimes talk about; can you ever hear it?

Boy, it sure is tough to hear if we’re always doing the talking! Maybe there are times when we are with God that we should just be still for a while and see what happens…  Can we spare the time?

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Listening Skills

  1. etaxwiz says:

    I usually start hearing it after about 18 minutes of silent listening. Why that is, I don’t know. I also get empathetic reactions that trigger specific prayer responses and supernatural stimuli. He is definitely out there and promises to reward us if we diligently seek Him. More than anything, I love His gentleness. They call it quiet time for a reason.

  2. vw1212 says:

    He talks more than we listen. vw

  3. surrender884 says:

    In the book I am reading by John Eldredge, Waking the Dead, this topic was spoke of. Anything and everything I can learn about God’s voice speaking to me keeps me in tune with the Holy Spirit. It is through the Spirit that He speaks to us. Each time I hear his message is when I least expect it. I have had to discern if the message was from my conscience or from the evil one also.

  4. lukemanalive says:

    I am entirely for an emphasis on listening to and following the leading of the spirit. God is far more involved in our daily lives than we give him credit for.
    A question on the topic though, how do you discern what is the voice of God verses hunger pains or our own internal desires?

    • Don Merritt says:

      That’s a very good question, and I have come to realize that the answer is different for each one us, as He relates to us at the place we are in, and we’re all in different places. For me, I have come to recognize that whenever I’m asking myself that question, it we “me” talking and not Him, for when it comes from Him, I have no doubts.

  5. How true. As a matter of fact, I included that “still voice” in my latest children’s fantasy book, and how my main character learned to listen to it. We are sometimes too busy to just listen. Thanks for the reminder!

  6. Good point. I find that it is easy to read the Bible during my prayers and almost approach it like, “I’ve finished my assignment and I knew all this stuff already.” The challenge is learning to take an extra minute or two and say, “OK God, what do You want ME to do with this today?”

  7. Kitsy says:

    For a very long time (the 1st 59 years of my life?) I didn’t listen because I didn’t expect to hear anything.

    Also, I can usually tell it is divine communication if it is not what I expected to hear or not something I would have come up with on my own. If the message is condemning or accusative, that’s not from Jesus, either.

  8. Bargo says:

    That reminds me of a great qoute.
    The single biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place.
    George Bernard Shaw

Leave a Reply

