13 comments on “Haves and Have Nots

  1. “Approaching people in love means that we bother to actually care about them, it takes time, and it is a kind of investment in people, without judgments, without threats, without doom. Even the most hardened hearts can be mended by the love of God… and I think it is especially important to bear in mind that it is God’s love that we must display in sharing with others.”

    Discipling? Ministering? Loving?

    I was just pondering my “early days” of “disciple head-banging” with you. And how I read your words today and see discipleship/unconditional love as the same thing.

  2. Pingback: Haves and Have Nots — The Life Project | My Life in Scripture

  3. ” Approaching people in love means that we bother to actually care about them, it takes time, and it is a kind of investment in people, without judgments, without threats, without doom. Even the most hardened hearts can be mended by the love of God… and I think it is especially important to bear in mind that it is God’s love that we must display in sharing with others”

    Yes. Yes. Yes. It takes time. Edges first….then work your way in. Set the example and display God’s love. They will be drawn to it and want more.

    For many many years, there was a music, food, and craft street fair in Asheville called Bele Chere. It was always held the next to last weekend in July…around my birthday…and the hottest, stormiest weekend of the year. There were often street corner preachers pounding Bibles and screaming condemnations and fear. The last year or two (the fair is no longer held), the Episcopal church in Asheville set up a booth down the street from the preachers and displayed a banner: “GOD LOVES YOU. NO EXCEPTIONS.” There was a simple shoe box on the table with a stack of scrap paper and pencils beside it. On the shoe box was printed “Prayer requests.” There were prayer ministers manning the table.

    I was not aware of the booth nor did I usually attend the fair because it was always so hot and so crowded. But I was asked to type up the prayer requests from the slips of paper so the list could be distributed to the prayer chain and blessed by the priest before being burned and the ashed distributed in the garden. I was totally blessed by the opportunity to read so many heart-felt requests. I prayed with the writers as I typed them up. I wept over so many. There were short “just pray for me” requests and sometimes just a name, like “Jesse” or “Melissa.” Others had long stories in tiny scribbles over the front and back of the piece of paper…stories of long illnesses or abuse or addiction. I was devastated and needed to cry a lot afterwards.

    But, that’s how it is done.

    “It is God’s love that we must display in sharing with others.”

    You are so right. Thank you, Don. I had forgotten about that fair, that booth, those prayer requests. And now I cry again.

    And thank you, Jesus.

    To God be the Glory.

  4. Yes, God put his words in the body of Jesus, partly so we could see and hear what God would say and do if he were living among us ~ which he did do. BTW, if the material body is evil, why did God make material bodies? Would that mean he made evil?

    Here is another aside: If baptism is water salvation, would that make the cross wood salvation, and Jesus’ body torture blood salvation?

    Good morning, Don.

  5. I join the others here, Don: “Approaching people in love means that we bother to actually care about them, it takes time, and it is a kind of investment in people, without judgments, without threats, without doom. Even the most hardened hearts can be mended by the love of God… and I think it is especially important to bear in mind that it is God’s love that we must display in sharing with others.” SO important.

    I hope the tide is turning and the Body is finally learning this. I pray it is so.

  6. I think it is important to remember that this epistle was written to believers. They no longer felt threatened by 1 John 5:12.

    The Gospel is Good News! The Gospel is not a threat. We call the Lost the Lost because they are lost. No one needs to tell the Lost the consequences of being lost. They know. What they do not know is the Good News.

    Once the Lost hear the Good News and believe, they can do what a blind man once did. They can share the joy of their testimony.

    One thing I know: that though I was blind, now I see.

Leave a Reply

