10 comments on “Naked Before God and Spiritual Discipline

  1. I think that a big reason why we think that God might be offended by our au naturel body is because we don’t like what we see in the mirror. Rather than praising God with the Psalmist, we scream-out to God, “Why did YOU make me this way?”.

    13 For You formed my inward parts;
    You wove me in my mother’s womb.
    14 I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    Wonderful are Your works,
    And my soul knows it very well.
    15 My frame was not hidden from You,
    When I was made in secret,
    And skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth;
    16 Your eyes have seen my unformed substance;
    And in Your book were all written
    The days that were ordained for me,
    When as yet there was not one of them. (Psalm 139:13-16)

    Because I spend 90+% of my time au naturel, all of my Bible reading, studying and writing are done au naturel, and that includes my devotional and prayer time right before I go to bed. Yes, I AM comfortable in my own skin, and even with all the wear and tear of a lifetime of living, my body is still the most amazing of God’s creations.

    Blessings!

    Steve

  2. Pingback: Blogs of the Week | According To Greta

  3. Lets see if I can grasp this. I believe that I have a guardian angel or 2 (yes I am weird) so every time I get undressed they kinda look away or if I have intimate moments with my wife they go out to dinner then return when they think we have finished. Toilet time they play ping pong outside. Lucky they don’t take photos I guess. :))

    Yes I am being kind of sarcastic (not at you though Don) just at the whole concept that Christians who believe that our God is omnipresence, Omnipotent and Omniscient somehow become blind when we take our clothes off. He sees everything good, bad and ugly and it really amazes me that people who supposedly know God are blind to this concept.

    Keep up the good work.

    • I must agree with you about them not taking photos Steve; that is a good thing!

      Your point is very well taken. We know that God sees all, we know that we can’t hide anything from God, and yet we often seem to think we’re putting one over on Him anyway… It’s silly when you think of it like that!

      And of course that’s the whole point of these posts.

      Thanks again for your comments!

  4. When my kids were very little and we’d be playing hide and seek, they would put their hands across their eyes thinking if they couldn’t see me, I couldn’t see them! Adults seem to do that with the Lord, don’t they! I like praying in the shower because the world’s distractions are shut out, even the water sounds block out other noises. (Unless I don’t close the door tight enough and find a kitty or two in the shower with me – for some odd reason they love water!) Excellent post, Don. Thank you!

  5. I agree, to a point, but the shower does not last nearly long enough.

    Something I learned in a family full of children is that the best way to get the solitude needed to meditate on scripture is to run a bath, Minimum 40 minutes without interruption, bliss.

    I still do this, even though solitude is now easier.

  6. Pingback: Where is the government strategy to prevent violence against women? | From guestwriters

Leave a Reply

