Adventures in Yard Work

I mentioned a week ago that I needed to do some clean up in the yard, and that as a consequence I wouldn’t be blogging as much as usual; this is my “report”.

I had some adventures outside this past week, but for the most part, they didn’t involve having fun; I really don’t like yard work much. I found that tools I needed were no longer around and had to buy some new ones, I discovered that plants that used to be there are gone, and in a few cases, I found that plants I thought were gone are still there. Of course, I also got a refresher course on yard work itself, since I haven’t had to do any since 2013…

I had actually forgotten what it’s like to work in the yard when you can’t really see things; you’re always having to stick your hands into places you can’t really see, and you’re constantly being scraped and cut, you think you’ve got an area cleared out and then you get a closer look or a look from a different angle and discover that there’s more you hadn’t seen… blah blah blah.

Then, on Friday and Saturday, I was reminded of why I bother with it all; things that had been budding, but of course I hadn’t actually seen the buds, suddenly started to open up; early yesterday morning I took a few pictures…

I never knew that tulips close up at night… that IS a tulip, right?

Those miserable trees that made such a mess dropping their leaves are coming to life suddenly…

Yesterday afternoon those things that I think are probably tulips look a little different…

OK, so now I remember why I bother in yard; well, other than the fact that I hear about it if I don’t. Even now after the neglect of the last few years, there are still some of God’s creations out there that are trying to come out and display His glory, and in the garden man and God work together to do something wonderful. Yep, a nice reminder, as they say; I’ll be focusing on yard work again this week. I made a dent, but there is still so much to be done!

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Adventures in Yard Work

  1. Rebecca says:

    I have been in the same boat lately.

  2. Reblogged this on Talmidimblogging and commented:
    Thinking of Tiny Tim as I read this post. 😀

  3. Rodney Olsen says:

    I know that I’ll never be a gardener but that doesn’t stop me from appreciating a wonderful garden. Some great photos there.

  4. How beautiful when we can appreciate His glory in the little things, in the messy things, in the singular things that He sets before us to take our breath away. Thank you for sharing this.

  5. Kitsy says:

    I believe those are poppies, dearest. And consider yourself a Master Gardener because poppies are not easy to grow.

  6. Beautiful photos and a lovely reminder of something we were talking about in our small group this week – the need to get rid of the thorns and the weeds…to allow the flowers to bloom in all their glory. Too many weeds choke out the flowers that are trying to bloom. Water and light and God’s loving Hand all help us to bloom. 🙂

  7. P.S. They are tulips 🙂

Leave a Reply

