17 comments on “Naked Before God: In Community

  1. That is a big reason why I question the wisdom of ordaining and installing a new pastor who is under forty. Even if they have all the right “credentials”, they don’t have the life-experience to be a good pastor, because being a pastor is way more than just standing up every Sunday and preaching. Even though I have said that if I had known how much joy being a pastor brings thirty years ago, I would have become a pastor back then, but I was way too immature to be a good pastor. No church needs or deserves a “still wet behind the ears” pastor. I have had to get beaten up a LOT to grow into the man I am today, but I still don’t feel “qualified”. Yes, I know that “God doesn’t call the qualified, He qualifies the called”.

    Blessings!

    Steve

  2. Pingback: Naked Before God: In Community | A disciple's study

  3. When you said – ages back – that you saw this topic developing, I wondered how. With this post – and the move form personal to community … now I am hooked line and sinker! This is great stuff, Don. Thank you.

  4. YES! But in theory. I don’t think I’ve ever seen this played out in a congregation of any sort. I think it’s developing in a small group I lead, but it’s been three years, and we’re only barely there. I want it, but I’m also terrified by the very idea. Physically and spiritually, I’m rather pare-shaped. That’s not an image I’m comfortable with being “revealed” to any sort of group. But is the answer going to the ‘gym’ first or is it jumping in and being cleaned in community? I’m not sure I’m part of a community where jumping in to be cleaned would be accepted, permitted, or possible without horror. Would that be part of the maturing process? Let me come up with some more metaphors and get back to you on it.

  5. Being fully exposed is scary! And that’s what happens in community–you choose to be there for all to see. Which opens us (not necessarily invites) comments. I think you’re spot on with your insights on the lack of these folks in churches. Being exposed, vulnerable, can cause us to lose respect or admiration in the eyes of others. Which then begs the question–who are we looking to please in the first place? If it’s God, there should be no fear. But I’ll own my own fear here–people can be mean. This really is a wonderfully thought provoking post, Don. Thanks so much for opening a can of naked worms!

  6. Well stated. It is sad so many churches in America are hurting so many people. I can only say it is because leaders in the church do not have an authentic relationship with Christ. The “love” relationship where Christ circumcises our hearts, that helps us become more like him.

  7. Reblogged this on Living for Freedom and commented:
    This is so correct. Discipleship is what is missing from today’s church. We have to get real or naked with God first then we must get real or naked with others and disciple them into a fiery relationship with Jesus. Matthew 28:19-20 says it all go into the whole world and reach everyone and make the disciples.

  8. This is so correct. Discipleship is what is missing from today’s church. We have to get real or naked with God first then we must get real or naked with others and disciple them into a fiery relationship with Jesus. Matthew 28:19-20 says it all go into the whole world and reach everyone and make the disciples.

  9. Pingback: Naked Before God: In Community – Living for Freedom

  10. Pingback: “Naked Before God: In Community” 4/29/2016 Posted by Don Merritt | God's group

Leave a Reply

