There are times in the life of a writer…

…when the words simply do not come, and your humble correspondent is no different from anyone else. Most of the time, we just write any old thing; gibberish if necessary, and then the words begin to flow, yet even that old writer’s trick doesn’t work every time.For this particular writer, the past few weeks have been “writer’s block” in the extreme, and when coupled with internet service interruptions during the day, I finally shut my computer down, and went outside and launched an all-out offensive against weeds and snakes.

No doubt you’ll be happy to know that the weeds mounted fierce resistance while loosing significant ground, as the snakes  encountered high casualties and are in headlong retreat, while this reporter suffered nothing more than a few cuts and scrapes from hidden thorns and thistles…

The battle for the flower beds will rage throughout the summer, with the weeds launching endless counter attacks, but the snakes are definitely on the run as their cover is more and more sparse… and finally the ability to focus on writing has returned (I think).

We’ll get back on track with Acts… and I have a few other little things rolling around my head that will most likely find their way onto the blog this week, as long as the internet keeps working… and I have lots of new photos to add along the way.

Until then, sorry for the unplanned interruption, and I’ll see you next time!

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to There are times in the life of a writer…

  1. Everyone needs a rest, even when they don’t want to.

  2. lindamowles says:

    Remember, God is sovereign. This unexpected interruption in your writing was well known to Him. Look for the lessons that He has taught you during these days … and I look forward to reading more of your incredible writing! Blessings to you.

  3. pipermac5 says:

    Brother, I can sure relate to that. There are times when I come up with a “good idea” but it falls flat after just a few lines. So, I just put it in the “fridge” for another time. Other things hit me like lightning-bolts and I can barely type fast enough as it almost writes itself. I have over fifty posts in the “fridge” right now, so if I completed one per week, it would take me over a year to clear out the “fridge”. Some of them may never see the light of day.

    Welcome back, whenever you can get your “writer’s-cap” back on.

    Blessings,

    Steve

  4. Cate B says:

    I have also had “blockage”…….. thank you for sharing this. 😀

  5. The weeds and snakes, good examples of attacks from the enemy. Life is full of weeds and snaked and here, we have alligators too. But now I look at things from a spiritual application and that is why I said I will write what God gives me to write. And if I pause, it is because God has been working on me. Teching me, showing me or guiding me into a truth I didn’t fully understand. Fresh air is wonderful.

  6. Tom says:

    Glad to hear everything is ok for you. I was concerned something bad may have happened. Glad to have you back.

  7. vw1212 says:

    Glad to see you up and running and that it wasn’t anything else but a broken internet connection….vw

  8. oarubio says:

    Good job! I, too, find solace– and sometimes ideas when I’m in the back little wooded area controlling the honeysuckle and transplanting a few unexpected seedlings from the front flower bed.

  9. Op2misticone says:

    I enjoyed the interruption. It is good to know the weeds and snakes are under control. I image your garden is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

