Photo of the Week: June 1, 2016

I was just noticing that I’ve probably overdone these kinds of close-ups of flowers and leaves, and I’ve recently taken dozens more like this one from Meijer Gardens in Grand Rapids, Michigan. If you think I post too many such photos, I’m sorry about that to be sure. Yet I find myself drawn to such shots, and I will admit that I very much enjoy them. Yet my enjoyment is not so much in the subject of the photos, for to be quite honest, when I take these shots, I’m actually taking a photo of something that I think is there, but that I can’t really see in real life. What I actually see at the time is a color or shift in the lighting that I think might be “something” and then I try to frame it in a lens by best guess, and focus on whatever the anomaly I can see; I only know for sure what I’ve gotten when I upload to photos and blow them up on a large screen.

Thus, when I find that I actually have something that looks nice, is reasonably well composed and focused, at least as far as I can tell, it’s like a kind of “moral victory” over the blindness that seems to make almost everything more difficult than it should be, as though I’ve held off the beast for at least one more day.

Yes, I’ll be posting more of these,  even if only to stay in the fight; sorry if I seem to overdo it.

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Photo of the Week and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Photo of the Week: June 1, 2016

  1. Bette Cox says:

    You NEVER overdo it, Don. One day as I was meditating about the vastness of the universe, the Lord said to me, “Have you ever considered the edges of leaves?” Wow! Not just leaves, but the edges of leaves. Creator God has such attention to detail! Myriads of leaves and their edges consumed me for days after that, not to mention shades of green too many to count. I love your photos. Keep them coming!

  2. Lesa Rose says:

    I just want to say that I love your photos. Flowers are my favourite.

  3. God is so amazing on how he designs these flowers and leaves, but even more so that a Blind Man can take just gorgeous pictures. Praise God

  4. Overdo it….please! Beautiful, simply beautiful. I have never seen a flower expressing the beauty that you captured in this photo. Amazing! Thank you:)

  5. Every photo of a flower is evidence of God’s love for us. He could have made flowers grey and round, bu He didn’t. Instead he took His palette of colours and His limitless imagination and painted the most glorous variety of flowers for us to enjoy. Having recently been blessed with a day at the Chelsea Flower Show, I am still marvelling at the wonder of God’s flowers. Keep photographing, Don. Every photo you share gives glory to our Creator.

  6. I think it’s lovely.

  7. Kitsy says:

    You and I are photographically soul mates ! I do the same and for the same reason. Furthermore, I rejoice in having invested in a smart camera that has perfect vision.

    Shoot on, my dear. This is one way God has answered prayers for improved sight.

Leave a Reply

