Heretics, Murder and Brotherly Love

Here is something I posted yesterday on Church Set Free; if you haven’t seen it, please check it out!

Church Set Free

A few weeks back I watched “The Tudors” again on Netflix. OK fine, you got me; I binge-watched it!

I had actually seen it some years ago, but enough time had passed so that it was almost like the first time again. As I watched the story of Henry VIII unfold, I was struck with a great sense of thankfulness that I live now and not back then; what a terrible time it was. I must add that I am also thankful that when America was established, our founders went to such great lengths to ensure that no such tyranny could happen here; and so far, their precautions have worked.

Yet more than anything else, I was impressed with the complete lack of understanding that people, at least those in leadership, had of what the Christian faith is all about. To be sure, this is not a Protestant versus Catholic…

View original post 516 more words

4 thoughts on “Heretics, Murder and Brotherly Love”

    1. Thank you so much for this nomination; I’m honored that you would think of me for this. Sadly, I’m not currently able to participate in a timely manner due to health and scheduling issues, but that doesn’t lessen my appreciation of you thoughtfulness. Thanks again, Don

  1. That took place at the end of the era of world history when each nation had its own patron god, and people who opposed the patron god could be imprisoned, tortured, and/or put to death. Only by now in the Christian world, each Christian nation had its own patron version of Christianity. True separation of church and state is when the government cannot order you to have a certain religion, and execute you if you do not.

Leave a Reply

