Our Awesome God

The other day, Bette Cox left a comment on one of my photos that was truly inspirational, even though it might seem odd at first. Her observation was about God’s incredible attention to detail, and she brought up as an example the complexity of leaves; of edges of leaves. I’m sure most all of us have noticed leaves, their shades of color, their shapes, and interior structure being seen as light passes through… but the edge of a leaf?

I have to admit that until Bette mentioned leaf edges; I really hadn’t ever paid them much attention.

Yet as I thought about it, I realized that if the Designer hadn’t gotten the edges just right, leaves wouldn’t work at all; they’d just dry up and drop off before they could even be fully formed, and then… the animal kingdom, including you and me, couldn’t exist.

If you allow your mind to wander through the creation, just the little things, not the usual big ones… the magnitude of the craftsmanship of the Creator, His attention to tiny, sometimes even invisible details is beyond comprehension; how can we not just sit back in almost a childish state of wonder?

I don’t know about you, but when I ponder such things, my head usually turns to mush; and that is when it usually hits me (yet again) that there is something even more amazing that all of that: The very same God who created the universe in all of its infinite vastness, as well in its finite smallness, with attention to every tiny, minute detail, knows my name, and wants relationship with me, and of course, the same goes for you as well.

How can that be?

Isn’t that just the most amazing thing of all?

WOW!

 

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Our Awesome God

  1. Pete says:

    I love hearing about the awesomeness of God. He is so deliberate in all He does. Even when I cannot see what he is doing in my life because my own imagination gets in the way, He is always working things out for my good. He works silently behind the scenes to bring about eternal change. The edge of the leaves is a great example. What is he doing right now on the edges of my life? That is worth seeking out!

  2. Tom says:

    Amazing infinite love!

  3. Bette Cox says:

    Many thanks, Don, for mentioning leaf edges… I never used to like the color green, but Father God’s question about leaf edges caused me to adore green! He planned exquisite leaf edges and myriads of green shades of color eons before creating them – just as he planned good things to the tiniest detail for us eons before creating us. Wow!

  4. pipermac5 says:

    Even more mind-blowing is the details of our bodies.

  5. Op2misticone says:

    Don, You are so right. When you think of it all, everything He created, it is so amazing. To think that all the hairs on my head are numbered-is mind blowing. And that’s just one little thing. I remember someone once telling me that God is in all the details and the best part is He really cares about the details. Thanks for sharing. Blessings, Carlene

  6. mannasplace says:

    I am constantly stunned at the variety of His creation. The “more mature” I get…the more amazed I become. Still…I hadn’t thought about the edges of leaves until now! I also just discovered your blog – beautiful/meaningful words…beautiful pics!

  7. Paula says:

    Thanks for posting about God’s creation, which is always amazing to me. I often write about “critters.” Thanks also for stopping by my blog today and liking a post. blessings to you

Leave a Reply

