9 comments on “Peter, you did what?”

  1. The more things change, the more they stay the same. We see and experience many of the same kinds of divisions that existed during the early church. I have experienced antagonism towards my ministry many times, because many Bible-believing Christians can’t accept that I have been called to live a “different” lifestyle and minister to a “different” kind of people. Rather than giving glory to God for what he is doing through me, they condemn me because I am “different”.

    Blessings!

    Steve

  2. That you for sharing this. I think that oftentimes we forget that Jesus saved all of us by dying on that cross. Should we toss aside the sick, the lame, and those who offend us with their way of life? These are the perfect opportunities to extend the life-changing love of Jesus.

    My Mum grew up in a Jewish neighbourhood, too. And, like you, became familiar with their customs and some of their language. I believe it really helped shape who she had become as she grew older. And I would be willing to say she had a similar affect on her friends.

    Blessings to you today!

  3. It’s interesting, isn’t it, that the Holy Spirit comes upon who He will, whether or not we give our permission for Him to do so! And in the case of Cornelius and his family, they weren’t even baptized in water – it was only after they were baptized by the Spirit that Peter baptized them in water.

    Funny how the Spirit works. 😉

  4. “”So if God gave them the same gift he gave us who believed in the Lord Jesus Christ, who was I to think that I could stand in God’s way?””

    That should stop a lot of wagging tongues. I was once chastised by a brother for even suggesting that a “certain group of people” would open their hearts to hear the gospel.

    Good post, thank you Don.

Leave a Reply

