16 comments on “Hurry Up!

  1. How very well put. In fact, last night I did just that…walked away from those pesky smartphones and FB…but much to my consternation, I found this a.m. that someone had hacked me…so much for relaxation…you just can’t win for losing can you?

  2. 5-star amen to this one! I think this is more difficulty to those my chlidren’s age (30’s) since I didn’t grow up with such things in my profession, and am used to not having “the world at my fingertips”. Right now my phone is accidentally locked up in the garage after a pleasant bike ride with my husband and a friend. I guess I’ll go fetch it….later.

  3. How timely this was, Don. I have been feeling so overwhelmed lately and that I just HAVE to get all of these things done. A little prayer, and God let me know, I simply don’t have to. Just do what He says, and quite worrying about the rest. Thanks, Brother

  4. When my children come to see me we usually spend the time watching favorite movies together…favorites, as in we’ve watched them countless times and know all the lines. When my brother and his wife came to visit me, I looked for a movie they might like to watch. My brother said, “I thought we could just sit and talk.”

    really? I must confess…I was stunned…and almost speechless.

  5. Don, I agree with you. Everything is rush, rush, rush. I remember the lazy Saturday mornings of years gone by. Sipping coffee, reading the newspaper, all the great Saturday cartoons that were on, working with the family to get the chores done so we could have an afternoon/evening to spend together and now, everyone has their noses buried in their handheld devices, checking emails and social media sites, watching random videos. Trying to hold a conversation with anyone, I get the response, hold on a sec or just a minute. And I am guilty too.

    Sometimes I plan meals out for the family, just so we can have conversation. The rule is no cell phones out at the table. Keep them in your pocket or purse. You can give me at least an hour of your time.

    It’s so easy to get caught up in everything of the world, but that’s the problem, it’s of the world. Little by little, we are becoming such an entrenched society of electronic gadgets that are supposed to make your life easier, help you manage your schedules, remind you of important moments, that you lose those important moments because you care more about what is going on with the devices, than actually taking the time to listen to those around you.
    Blessings to you,
    Carlene

  6. I remember when I started working I had a phone on my desk, people would either walk into my office (yes, we actually had offices back then, not cubes) or call me on the phone. Either way, I would greet them and offer whatever help they needed. We could spend a half hour talking before they got to the point of the visit. We could connect on a personal level.

    Then everyone got voicemail, now people could leave me a message if I wasn’t there, and we got further apart, except for those who still came to see me. You can’t talk with a voice message, so my interactions with those people slowly disappeared; fortunately, there were still people who preferred to stop by and talk.

    I never had a fax machine, but we did get email when it came out; now people could sent me an email instead of leaving voicemail, the phone calls all but disappeared, and the visits became less frequent. Connections to people became fewer and less intimate.

    I guess that wasn’t impersonal enough, or they don’t get responses as quickly as they wanted, so now we have instant messaging. People send an IM that is supposed to pop up a window on my computer and interrupt what I was doing so they can get an even more immediate response. That is where I drew the line, I had no choice in having it installed on my computer, but I found that I don’t have to log into the damn thing.

    People rarely stop by and chat anymore, we don’t connect with people anymore. Oddly enough, the IM software we have is called iConnect…but we don’t. The company now wants everyone to have a page on the company site with their picture and background information so people can connect with each other. Why not just eliminate the IM and email, and force people to actually interact?

    Ah, for the good-ole days.

  7. Pingback: Slowing | strengthened by grace

Leave a Reply

