Bittersweet Reflections

This has been an interesting week so far at my house; my schedule is simply all messed up!

And in the process, we’ve added a new member to the family.  Yesterday, as I was holding my new grandson for the first time, I couldn’t help but wonder what his future would be like in a world that is becoming more dangerous and unstable, and with parents who haven’t exactly been known to make the wisest decisions thus far.

When I grew up, I lived in quite a different world, one in which my parents could establish geographical boundaries containing roughly a square mile in which I could go anywhere without permission, as long as I was home at the specified time, without any need for worry about my safety or getting into much in the way of mischief. In our neighborhood, my parents and I literally knew everyone, and nearly all of the moms were home all day; if I misbehaved, my Mom knew about it before I came home. If I fell off of my bike and got hurt, several moms would be there to take charge of the situation, and with all of those eyes present, there was no crime going on anywhere around there.

Sadly, neither my children nor grandchildren have ever seen a world like that; far from it.

To be sure, if you never lived in that world, I think it’s much harder to see what factors existed then that don’t exist now, and as time moves on, fewer and fewer people will ever realize that such an environment is even possible: Very sad.

Holding a newborn grandson is surely bittersweet.

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Bittersweet Reflections

  1. I hear you. I had the same type of upbringing. The world calls today progress. The question is progress to what? And even though we see a world we no longer recognize or a country that we no longer recognize we can rest assured, God is in control. We have to do what is good and right and confirm our relationship with Jesus Christ and lead others to salvation and trust God with the rest, including this changing world. Peace.

  2. But it is one of the most beautiful experiences you can have. May your new grandson bring you much joy and may you grow a deep relationship with him. God bless you and your family

  3. pipermac5 says:

    Children ARE a blessing from the Lord, so CONGRATULATIONS to you and the new parents.

    Yes, we DID grow up in a different time, in a different “world”. In spite of the threat from the “Cold War”, it was a much-safer time and place, and I miss “the good old days”.

    Blessings!

    Steve

  4. Congratulations and you are correct. Don’t forget we didn’t have cell phones either so when we were out playing, we were gone. Our parents had to trust us to do the right thing and be where we said we would be and if we weren’t, someone was there to tell our parents where we were and what we were doing.

  5. When all is said and done, you have been wonderfully blessed by God through your new grandson, amen? Thankyou as always for your thoughtful and candid posts, dear brother.

  6. William Haney says:

    I would like to think grandparents can be a positive influence a parent may not be comfortable or able to. Give them a desire to find a culture like that?

  7. rebornicity says:

    Congrats!

  8. Congratulations granddad and to the new parents
    Life can be Bitter sweet indeed, with many changes some we like and others we don’t
    Although the same can be true of the past, as there are things in my past I still regret doing or not doing, if only it were as simple to bot out mistakes as it is to remember the good times

  9. wsforchrist says:

    I related to your childhood. Perhaps what we are seeing in our world today are growing pains for a better tomorrow? Congratulations to you and to your entire family!

  10. Citizen Tom says:

    We have free range chickens, but children? Not anymore.

    I grew up as a military brat. Lived in three different countries. My daughters live both live in the country. Maybe in the country they will be able my grandchildren the way I grew up, free to roam the neighborhood.

  11. Hi Don! Congratulations on your grandson. You really touched on subject that sometimes captures my thoughts. I would sit and think of the “good old days”, as we remember them, and try to exam when it all went wrong. When did we take that wrong turn? Was it during the Jimmy Hendricks era, the Beatles, or when women decided to burn their bra’s? Perhaps it was the pot and the table top dancing, doing the jerk and the mashed potatoes, or perhaps, even the unveiling of rebellious women in a quest for their freedom. I’m not sure. But, what I do know is that the past has led us to the future of today.

  12. Mike B. says:

    Congratulations Don!

  13. gaustin00 says:

    Oh my congratulations! Nothing like a new born to make us think back to former times. Yes as you said on one comment above..if we are not careful we start sounding old. And I am certainly feeling it this way as I see my soon to be 20 yr old granddaughter and thinking of what lies ahead for her. It keeps me praying and thanking God for each day to enjoy her. Enjoy that new wee one for before you know it he will be turning 20 and you will wonder where did the years go!

    PS thanks for liking my blog “Crisis Response”…I feel honored by that “like” since I consider you to be such a great writer and I soooo enjoy your blog posts each day. I glean so much by your insights.

Leave a Reply

