35 comments on “There are instances under the sun…

  1. As a Christian I try to maintain a Christ like attitude in everything I say and do, however, in a case like this it makes my blood boil to think that a governmental agency like DHS could wield the power shown in this case with no regard to people rights. It’s no wonder people are going out, buying guns and then killing people. They are frustrated, tired, fed up, angry and just want to see the injustices done to innocent people made right. I certainly don’t advocate killing people but I certainly want to see things changed in a BIG way.

    • I agree with yo Russ, people are fed up, and dissatisfaction is abroad in the land. Yet just wait; in November 85% or more of incumbents will be reelected and 40-50% of eligible voters won’t show up… and this is what we get for that.

  2. I hope you guys get a better deal after your vote than we did. Still, whatever happens, I just have to remember it’s God who raises a nation, and also God who puts it down as it is written.

    We now have a leader in No.10 who agrees with sharia law. She will now run the country. You couldn’t make it up.

    Rights? What rights? 😦

      • Where did you read that anyone blamed human stupidity on God? It’s our own wickedness that has left the world in the mess it’s in.

        • Many people say man has !o control. If that was true, God would have been guilty of the sin in Eden already. You will be surprised about how many educated people, university degree level, think that man cannot think and/or act independently. That is too fatalistic. Just this morning, people blamed God for giving them a bad government. This prompted me to post this scripture.

            • No, I think it was on Twitter. Or Google. I do not always post here in response to what somebody says here. I post here and it gets shared automatically to other social media platforms where I have a large audience. I usually address general issues or even principles. Someone may say something that provides the inspiration yet I hardly ever respond directly. I was about to post, for instance, on Karl Marx and 26 lead soldiers. While being seen by medical consultants all day long, someone else, by coincidence posted on the 26 characters already. Now, when I post, I will need to explain where I am coming from.

              People make two general mistakes:
              – they see things only from their perspective
              – they take general issues personal
              That is not the fault of the writer but of the reader.

              Yesterday, a clinical psychologist confronted me about my teaching on homosexuality because she took the general principle and applied it to her own life exclusively. She isn’t homosexual, to the best of my knowledge. It shows how even a professional can step into a hole unthinkingly. Yes, that is just how we are as humans. We are not raised to see things objectively, but to feel personally betrayed if, say, Obama disappoints in some way or another. Social media, outside of the more conservative WordPress, provides for a most interesting people show.

  3. Crazy. I worked in the foster care system for so long and saw all kinds of crazy things like this. People targeted because they were poor, or single moms or minority and everyone looks the other way. Nobody wants to stand up for what’s right, so sad.

  4. Sadly, I don’t think this is limited to Iowa, I am willing to bet that other states have as invasive, if not more so, laws as these.

    To quote a bumpersticker I saw recently, “So, SCOTUS can find the right to Gay Marriage in the Constitution, but not a baby’s right to life?”

  5. I hate to say that it does not surprise me. My family personally had a bad run in with the DHS for about a year over something false that created a lot of chaos for our family. They try to fix things without God and in the process tend to break more than they fix. It is the way of the world without God.

  6. My spouse was actually doing something to me and my kids. So no surprise when the police showed up. They did not arrest him, and they should have. Instead I was told to go to a womens shelter 20 minutes away. They talked to the kids seperately, more than once and one of my daughters was nearly 18 … 4 eye witnesses the youngest being 13. All stories lined up like they should have, as well as mine. I was supposed to be reunited with my kids at the shelter and at the last minute before I left I was told they were being sent to a childrens home. My kids have been home schooled, volunteers constantly at church., … not even familiar with the kinds of kids in this home. My 16 yr old who was 15 at the time, ended up being physically assaulted by another kid. He just happened to be much stronger and pinned him to the floor until help arrived. They kept them for 3 days, I did not go to a shelter because the point was to get the kids. My spouse, who is doing better, was not arrested, detained, or removed from the home. I had to threaten to take it to the local news and I got them back 12 hours later. Its a huge messy system that fails more often times than not. K from Kansas

    • I can’t tell you how many times I have heard stories like yours and the one I wrote about over the past 20 years; I never believed them, thinking they must have left something out…

      I do not think that way any more now that I have seen the evidence and spoken to everyone involved, the mom, the doctors, the hospital and DHS. BTW, this story ended in a similar way… the need to keep it out of public view.

      • Whats really bad is that I have kids in pampers from 2 yrs old being watched by a group of 8 and 7 years old, running the streets, sucking on bottles, filthy, and I do not ever see child services doing anything about it in our neighborhood. I was the same way with the belief thing until it happened to me. I think its mild religious persecution as well. They looked into our home schooling as anti social behavior and tested the kids. My youngest son at 14 can pass the GED and my oldest daughter at 19 just got a 30 on her ACT, free full ride to college. My daughters are saving themselves for marriage, no drinking, no drugs … no bad behavior at all. One of the ladies in the kids home actually ended up seperating them from the other kids because she couldnt figure out why they were there. Frustrating.

  7. Hosea 8:4
    “They chose their own kings, kings I didn’t approve. They chose their own princes, princes I didn’t know. They chose to make idols with their own silver and gold. Because of this, they will be destroyed.

  8. It was said that God raises or puts down a nation. That is dogma, truth yet not the full truth. I just added perspective from Scripture. We were afforded a Marxist regime under the guise of democracy 22 years ago, wit- the aid of Christians from around the world. They ensured a listed, active communist become the leader, even awarded him the Nobel Peace Prize. That is after he had ordered at least two massacres. Now bring this in perspective with Hosea 8:4. Today, our once developed country is failing fast. Elections are coming and I hoped that the screenshot I posted of that Scripture would call people to ask God who He wanted in power, then vote for that one. I have always done this and, in so doing, was led to vote for someone I did not prefer. Let Jesus guide us; that is how He raises a nation He approves of.

  9. Wow This is certainly an instance where being a child of the King is significant. I believe that the enemy uses anything and everything at his disposal to steal, kill and destroy. Over the past couple of months, it has been revealed to me that we do not take the enemy’s influence in our lives as seriously as we should. While every instance is not demonic activity, we do not take him as seriously as we should. There is a spiritual war going on and we are in the middle, whether we like it or not. The enemy has a limited time left and he is taking out as many as he can before that time arrives.

  10. I’m from Iowa. A county south of where the infamous Shelby Duis case happened. In fact one of the workers who dropped the ball on that poor child was later in charge of my neighbors case.
    She was overzealous finding more fault than there was. My hometown a friends daughter fell off the merry go round at school in front of the teacher at the end of the day. DHS showed up to investigate for Child Abuse because of the fractured arm. Yet I knew women who bragged publically about using hard drugs and DHS wouldn’t touch them. Iowa is sadly very lacking in proper DHS workings.

Leave a Reply

