21 comments on “Naked Ladies

  1. Pingback: Naked Ladies | The Life Project – Platypus Lady

  2. Bro Andrew is correct! And you have to let the leaves do their thing, or the bulb gets no nutrients so it can bloom later. We have red ones, not quite the same, but same family that we call suprise lillies. Just poof, one day they are there!

    • I’ll be looking for them over the fall and winter. Andrew said winter, but it must fall, at least here because we don’t have leaves alive in the winter in Northern Illinois…

  3. My first thought was the flowers as well. We have grown them for ages. Usually in July (for us ) the fragrant pink leaf-less ladies appear. T
    When the flowers die then the green leaves appear for the rest of the year. I love them but they are not as hardy as regular amaryllis for me.

  4. They are lovely, Don. Do they have a scent? You must have an amazing yard.

    The surprises here around my new old home are ferns hidden behind the underbrush (that I am slowly conquering and dragging away) down toward the lake, vinca that grow like weeds between the cracks of the driveway and bloom after it rains (or would, if it would ever rain. We often get several inches of…thunder.), honeysuckle everywhere (God’s gift to the rural countryside), redbuds in the Spring, wysteria that grows wild by the acre, and what I call “resurrection poison ivy” because it does.

    I’m ecstatic because I can grow tea olive here. (Osmanthus Fragrans) It wouldn’t have survived in Asheville but it will here. I must get the 3 shrubs planted soon or the roots will fry in the black pots they are currently in. I am planting them beneath my bedroom window.

    blessings,

    Kitsy

  5. They are amazing. Praise God for all His marvelous works n the consistency of displaying His beauty and genius mind. I would like to stir mum up by saying im looking at naked ladies but im afraid she might think I’m being serious and then id really be in the doghouse

Leave a Reply

