As Time Goes By

The other day my oldest daughter sent me a text saying that she could get a ticket to go and see Donald Trump in Davenport, Iowa, asking if I thought she should go. Erin is our family’s resident Trump fan, but even if she wasn’t I would have given the same answer: “Yes, go!”

Erin's photo of the stage before things got under way yesterday.

Erin’s photo of the stage before things got under way yesterday.

You don’t need to be a big fan of a candidate to go to a campaign rally; why wouldn’t you want a seat to see history in the making? I started thinking about the presidential rallies I’ve been to; the things I’ve seen… and I had to realize that I have been quite fortunate in the things and people I’ve seen. My first ever political rally was back in ’64 when first grader me went to see Barry Goldwater speak at Hollywood-Burbank Airport. I’ll never forget the excitement… It was dusk when his aircraft landed and rolled to the platform. As it came to a stop, the Senator opened the cockpit window and waved to the crowd from the pilot’s seat, and then he came out to the cheering crowd and made his speech. I had no clue what he was talking about, but was greatly impressed by the shiny new 727, the TV cameras, the lights, the crowd; I was hooked.

Later that year we went and saw LBJ speak to much larger crowd; I remember him pounding the lectern, and my mother’s disdain for this little bit of showmanship; she was never a fan of Texas Democrats, but that is a story for another time. In ’68 I went to rallies for both Nixon and Humphrey, in ’72 I saw Nixon again. In ’76 I saw Reagan several times as a spectator, and even more as a worker in the primaries, and then both Ford and Carter in the general, and after that, it was always as a staffer. I won’t bore you with the other races I’ve been involved with as either a spectator or a worker, or the brawls and near brawls I’ve seen involving demonstrators trying to silence a candidate…

Good times!

When you have a chance to witness history, take it.

If you live in a place where you can cast a vote, cast an informed vote; there are far too many elections that are decided by people who don’t know what they are talking about. Finally, most who read this post are Christian writers of blogs; many like to comment on political issues… I would suggest that you not miss the opportunity to be an eye-witness reporter whenever you can be. The reason? What you see on television is heavily edited to fit time restrictions… and all too often the opinions of the editors.

It would appear that my daughter enjoyed her experience yesterday; I hope she will do it again, and see Mrs. Clinton if the opportunity comes about. Maybe she will take a greater interest in what is going on outside of her normal routine, and learn more about how things really work in the world around her, which would be an enlightening experience for anyone.

Yep, as time goes by , as the old memories begin to fade, as the names and faces change, as society moves forward and changes, the more I realize that there is really nothing new under the sun: I seem to find myself giving the same advice that was given to me so many years ago.

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to As Time Goes By

  1. It is all about civics class. Not only do we learn about our Republic we have opportunities to teach our children how our founding fathers set up a very special nation that would be different from the rest of the world. Right down to miles and gallons verses liters and kilometers. God Bless America!

  2. Hopewell says:

    The wisdom of our parents often seems to come back around to us in later years 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on preachtruthyoumoron and commented:
    interesting take

  4. vlmrhm says:

    History. Will we learn from it or repeat it. So the wisdom to your daughter has value in that she can see and learn first hand what a person is all about. I was a little girl when I lined the sidewalk to see John F. Kennedy’s motorcade drive by. The confetti falling like raindrops during a summer rain. It was so exciting to see the President and the First Lady. History in the making.

  5. Who is lbj.? What other races have you been involved with. ? You didn’t say your opinion of don or hilary so I won’t push unless you wish to discuss it. I see the merit in allowing your kids to make up their own mind about politics. In America u have the choice of non involvement in the political arm of our Babylon world system. Down under we don’t. One way isn’t necessarily better than the other but I like that you aren’t forced into participating in that pressure.

  6. Bette Cox says:

    “Accidentally” my husband, small children and I got to shake hands with Jimmy Carter during a brief campaign stop in Florence, SC. We didn’t know about it in advance, were just out there watching planes land, and were invited to take part in his reception line. It was an incredible moment that none of us will ever forget. Through the years I have met and/or worked for many candidates from city council to US President and I have never regretted any of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

