17 comments on “Stand Up

  1. Great post! “Go into ALL the world and preach the Gospel!” This includes our backyard, and our family living room. Yet we shy away so often. My brother was here for 4 days recently, and he is a fringe Christian at best, yet I failed to even bring up. I have before, and he has every argument in the book. So now I don’t bring it up. Oh, how I wish I would! Thanks for the reminder that it ‘s up to us.

    • Thank you Pete. Yes, family is the hardest nut to crack, for sometimes we are just too close. “A prophet is not without honor, except in his home town.”

  2. I sell my religious books at a public market. Most people will come into my booth and look around. Now and then I get one who is angry, angry, angry at “religion”. I always want to say “what happened?” but they leave fast and I don’t get a chance. Odd thing, though, is that young parents will tell their children they cannot have a $9 child’s book because they do not have the money, but will spend $20 on a piece of jewelry; most of my purchasers of children’s books are grandparents, though often any more they change their mind because they do not want to make the parents mad.

  3. Good question. My Christian community is a refuge online and offline but I must not refuse those outside the opportunity to dwell amongst us at God’s banqueting table. Speaking the truth in love without compromising my convictions is a challenge for me. If we get people to take their eyes off their problems or sin and just focus on Jesus will a holy lifestyle automatically follow. ? I certainly hope progressively holiness becomes the reality for all of us. We just need patience with the pace of people’s progress. It pains me to see those who once walked so strongly with the Lord straying away from Him. Thanks for encouraging us to stand up for Jesus the truest way to stand up for love. In standing up for anything else we have to consider will supporting this cause reflect the Holy nature of His heart where no evil is allowed entrance yet alone dominance

  4. Pingback: “Stand Up” 7/30/2016 Posted by Don Merritt | God's group

  5. Wisdom 15:3 to acknowledge you is perfect virtue.

    The Light, Love, and Joy of Jesus is bigger than anything including our fears, worries, insecurities, and uncertainties. Cheerfully and Joyfully sharing LLJJ is the best sales tactic and the best product to sell. 1 Corinthians 13:1-13 and 2 Corinthians 13:5 can help here too. Nice Post Don. Tony.

  6. No matter how bad it seems, regarding people failing to stand for God’s righteousness, there are always going to be the ” 7,000 who haven’t bent the knee to Ba’al” and, as you say ,Don, we don’t always see them because they aren’t in the spotlight. They are in the jungles, in the mountains, and in the places where angels dare to go. But they are there, and we are here to support them by faithfully knowing God is watching them and us, so we keep spreading the Word.
    The closer someone is to you, the harder it is for them to take you seriously. That’s just the way it is, but that is no reason not to keep trying.

  7. I stand up all the time – and it’s generally to my conservative Christian friends, since I’m a very liberal Christian. I vote for not just preaching the church but LIVING the Church through service. James 2:14-16: 14 What does it profit, my brethren, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can faith save him? 15 If a brother or sister is naked and destitute of daily food, 16 and one of you says to them, “Depart in peace, be warmed and filled,” but you do not give them the things which are needed for the body, what does it profit? 17 Thus also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead.

Leave a Reply

