Taking Refuge

All of us have those times when it just seems like life is getting to be too much, and at our house this is starting to seem like one of those times.  On the one hand, I have several very important projects going… nowhere.  As a result, it seems like everything is up in the air… or maybe everything is just hanging out: I’m not sure.  Of course there are those times when you might have some rough news about family members with serious health problems… very serious health problems.  Scary stuff…

As I said, everybody has streaks like this where the phone rings, you hear the latest and all you can say is something like… “the hits just keep on coming!”

It is precisely at this kind of time when a person needs to really think about life and how things are going.  It is a these times that we need to recall where our hope lies… and it isn’t with the things of this world, the projects that seem to be foundering, the hopes that appear to be dashed or the concern for loved ones and their futures.  No it is precisely at these times that we must recall that our hope and our refuge are found in God!

O Lord my God, I take refuge in you;
    save and deliver me from all who pursue me, 
or they will tear me like a lion 
    and rip me to pieces with no one to rescue me.

Psalm 7:1-2

True, it only seems like ‘enemies’ are after us, the truth is that things just aren’t going my way at the moment, but God’s refuge, his comfort and empowerment are very real indeed.

Thank you Lord for being there, for knowing my name, for giving comfort, for giving courage, and for giving all of us hope that surpasses any problems that life can throw at us!

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Taking Refuge

  1. I can relate. It seems like you have been peeking into my world some how. When everything in you loves God, you know his word is truth and you believe what God says in his word but life just is not matching what you know is truth. When no one seems to understand and you know the Holy Spirit is comforting you but life it self is overwhelming. One thing I keep telling myself, Satan was trying to convince Job’s mind, his thoughts, that God abandoned him. The battlefield is our mind and we need to watch our tongue and guard our thoughts and heart. This too shall pass.

  2. We need as Christian brothers and sisters, whether we agree on everything or not, to remember that this is one way to have one another’s “spiritual” backs! We need to remind one another when life itself seems to “be against us” that the Giver of Life is ALWAYS FOR us!!! Great Word as always Don!! God bless!

  3. lindamowles says:

    When I am at the end of my rope and have nowhere to turn, then God can come in and show me His power in a way that I cannot understand when all is going “well”. In actuality, it is when He acts through me and/or on my behalf that things are truly Well. Praise His name for His steadfast love and goodness.

Leave a Reply

