18 comments on “Would You Like to Know God?

  1. BINGO!! Thank you, thank you, thank you. You put so simply the truth that God is not out to get us, God is not angry with us, God is not looking down from heaven waiting for us to mess up, and so on. What version of the Bible did you use for John 1:16? It says what I have been trying to say, “…grace already given.” We have God’s fullness. We don’t have to beg or plead. We simply receive what has already been given. Sorry for getting on my soap box.

  2. The hard part about grace is believing we have it. It’s too good to be true. But as you’ve stated, if you get to know Him–the Word made flesh–it becomes more a matter of the relationship than an abstract that’s tough to grasp. Thanks for this.

  3. “Would you like to know God?
    Get to know Jesus. Would you like to know Jesus?
    Get to know the Word who became flesh and made His dwelling among us.”

    You pretty much summed up all of theology right there. Love it!

    • Back in my teaching days I used to get into very passionate conversations with other faculty members who were scandalized by my insistence that our theology was essentially simple. Those were good times, but I fear I didn’t persuade anyone, for I fear that we seem to assume that complicated theology justifies a higher fee for the teacher.

      Perhaps that’s too cynical. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Would You Like to Know God? | The Life Project | franciscansonthemountains

  5. Dan I truly enjoyed reading this blog. You manage to explain in simple terms with an amazing illumination the only way to get to know God ! I’m also on the way to the completion of my book Facing Goliath- How to Face the Hardest Things You’ve Ever Had to Face. I’m still playing with the subtitle though. Maybe you and I could exchange ideas on how to beat convey the message of The Cross ! I look forward to reading more from you!

Leave a Reply

