22 comments on “Caught in the Act!

  1. Pingback: Caught in the Act! — The Life Project | Talmidimblogging

  2. Pingback: Caught in the Act! | The Life Project | franciscansonthemountains

  3. One of my favorite Bible passages. What was Jesus writing? Some speculate he was writing the names of some of the crowd next to a particular sin they committed. Oh, well. Pure speculation.

  4. I agree with you, this story seems to be authentic Jesus teaching. But this brings up a good point on textual criticism.

    It was originally assumed (in the 19th century) that if earlier manuscripts didn’t include a phrase (or story), it must’ve been added by a scribe after the fact, which is why Westcott & Hort’s Greek New Testament (where modern translations like NIV, NASB, etc. get their text) makes a footnote here, or doesn’t include phrases at all, like with the omission of the end of John 3:13 (“who is in heaven”).

    But the latest scholarship is disputing this assumption because they’ve since proven that the opposite can also be true. In the case of John 3:13, they’ve now found even earlier texts (scraps) showing that this phrase was included. It’s speculated that this phrase might’ve actually been omitted later because the scribe didn’t understand how Jesus could both be in heaven and earth at the same time! Of course, since the advance of quantum theory, we not only know that this is possible, it perfectly lines up with where we’re told we are right now in Christ! (Eph.2:6) This may be a case where advance in science may actually help us believe the seemingly impossible! 🙂

    But, textual criticism aside, the most important evidence for us is that it witnesses with our hearts that it’s consistent with Jesus’ teachings.

    • OH Mel, this isn’t fair!

      I’m trying to type one-handed this week after an unpleasant incident involving my left hand and an immersion blender… so all I’ll say right now is: That is an interesting and though-provoking observation! 🙂

  5. Another excellent, thought-provoking post.

    However, I would like to respectfully disagree with your statement that this story does not belong in the Bible. Honestly, I am prejudiced after reading a book called “Which Version Is The Bible?”, which strongly suggests some sort of text-corrupting conspiracy launched to undermine faith, which said conspiracy may have been perpetrated in the 1800’s. I cannot help wondering how pre-1800’s translations compare to those we have now. That aside, though, I think we can trust that if God wants to give us His word, He is God enough to protect it and present it His way for us.

    Keep turning our hearts back to Jesus! Thank you!

    Best Regards,

    “GwennonR”

    • Thanks for your comments “GwennonR”.

      I would like to mention one thing, I never said this passage doesn’t belong in the bible; if I believed that, I would have skipped it. Some scholars believe that, but I am not one of them. What I did say was that I suspect it should probably be located elsewhere in John’s text, since it is right in the middle of a larger narrative.

      I hope that helps clear things up a bit, and thank you again for your comments.

  6. I have been taught that condemnation comes from the devil, not from God. Rather, God convicts us of our sin and need for repentance. Condemnation and conviction are not the same. Thoughts??

    • I agree. Condemnation comes from the outside- from one to another. Conviction comes from within: Whoops, I’m messing up and I need to repent. Massive difference!

Leave a Reply

