25 comments on “Spiritual Blindness

  1. Don, if you’ll forgive my dry humor but your post above sounds like an analysis of modern day politics more than a commentary on the book of John.

  2. Jesus said, “For judgment I have come into this world, so that the blind will see and those who see will become blind.”

    Even as I read this and continued into your narrative – something was odd. And then it happened: “To be judged I have come into this world, … “ I went and had a look at Mounce. Not that different. And I wonder – are we predisposed to “know” Jesus (aka “God”) is here to judge us (no matter how “nice” He is)? So do we always see “He judges” and “we are judged”? And even more oddly – is that why we so readily judge Him (aka God)– we always do – then and now.

    “I have come into this world to be judged. And those who do not judge will see, and those do will become blind.” Maybe.

    Thanks for this!

      • 39 Then Jesus said, “My coming into this world is itself a judgment—those who cannot see have their eyes opened and those who think they can see become blind.” J.B. Phillips

        39 Then Jesus said, I came into this world for judgment [as a Separator, in order that there may be [b] separation between those who believe on Me and those who reject Me], to make the sightless see and to make those who see become blind’ Amplified Bible Classic edition

  3. Don, I have to point out here that in the chapter just preceding this one, Jesus also says (to the Pharisees), “You judge by human standards; I judge no one. Yet even if I do judge, my judgment is valid; for it is not I alone who judge, but I and the Father who sent me.” (John 8:15-16)

    Between these verses and John 3:16-17, I believe He is telling us that it is not up to us to judge; it is only up to Him. He is the only one who is qualified to make valid judgment because we use our own subjective standards. He uses His standards, which are far more wise than ours.

    • Who can argue with you ultimate conclusion? (Where judgment is used in the sense of “passing judgment” as opposed to “Using good judgment”.)

      The path you’ve used to get there is certainly creative 🙂

    • Matthew 7:1-3 English Standard Version (ESV)

      Judging Others
      7 “Judge not, that you be not judged. 2 For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. 3 Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye?

      It is advisable that we not judge because we will be judged and according to our own method that may be far harsher than God’s

  4. Pingback: Spiritual Blindness | The Life Project | franciscansonthemountains

Leave a Reply

