14 comments on “Prayer, Power and Potential

  1. I agree Don. As I have been studying Psalms and Philippians I have become keenly aware of how feeble my prayer life is compared to that of David and Paul. They display such passion, purpose and power in their prayers and writing. I know it is changing me into a better prayer person. I can only hope what I write in my blogs about these two studies challenges the reader as well! I’m sure you feel the same way!

  2. Ah so true. Pastor said much the same thing last night and the Spirit moved. Nearly the whole congregation went forward to pray and me? I just stood as if transfixed unable to move….it was surreal…scary. It so reminded me of the shallowness of my prayer life. Thanks for this post, time to pray for something bigger than myself.

  3. “Indeed it shames me when I think about the prayers I hear today, prayers for this and that little thing, prayers for comfort and ease, prayers for an easy life, and it shames me even more when I think about how often the voice I hear praying these prayers is my own.” Yes I echo

  4. This is one I have been working on to change in my life and with my family. God’s ultimate purpose for every person is to know him and be known by Jesus and to spread the gospel message, not just a temporary fix of problems. Thanks for the post!

  5. I keep begging people to pray for our persecuted brothers and sisters in Christ–people who risk their life every day to be a Christian. Instead, I hear, “Be with the sick of our congregation, may our worship be acceptable, forgive us of our sins.” I tell these persecuted ones that churches in America have not forgotten them and are praying for them. But how much? How often? How caring?

    • An excellent point, sad to say. I ask churches to pray for the Gospel to move forward in their communities and throughout the world, with the same result. It seems that so many have lost all perspective.

  6. I am in a difficult situation at work. I and a number of other stable thirtysomething delivery drivers are currently taking orders from nineteen-year-old managers who are, frankly, in over their heads and not ready for the job. Yelling, crying, swearing, mistakes, ignoring mistakes, more yelling, and in one case, drug-withdrawal-induced meltdowns. In front of customers. They got their positions because they don’t have primary 40-hour-a-week jobs, whereas we adults do and therefore don’t want them. It’s an awkward situation for everyone.

    So this post of yours is a good reminder that my Christian friend and I should be focused less on the ongoing whirlwind and more on the potential of what Jesus could do through our witness. We feel like we’ve been given favor with those managers and with our fellow drivers, and we don’t want to spoil the opportuntiy by giving in to frustration and quitting (or having a bad witness).

    Thanks for this post, Don.

  7. Pingback: A Study in Ephesians by Don Merritt – the Life Project | franciscansonthemountains

  8. Pingback: Prayer, Power and Potential | A disciple's study

Leave a Reply

