Getting Under Way- Redux

It would be a fair question to ask why I would choose a “Pennsylvania Dutch” theme for this years’ Thanksgiving feast; even I must admit that it is “different”. Of course “different” is a good enough reason for me, but it sounded even more fun because Cathy and I spent a fair amount of time in 20150703_132902Southeastern Pennsylvania while we were living in the Washington area; it is simply beautiful there in Pennsylvania Dutch country. You might have seen my post from last July about chasing trains… well that’s where we were chasing them. Southeastern Pennsylvania has quite a few “heritage” lines as they call them in the UK.

I don’t think I mentioned this in the July post, but I nearly met my end there in a little town called Intercourse, Pennsylvania. We wanted to get a photo of the town sign there, thinking no one would believe there would be a town with that name, so we pulled into a bank parking lot, and I took the camera and ran across the highway (US 30 as I recall) to get the shot. On the way back to the car, I had to wait seemingly forever to make a run for it, and when there was finally a break in the traffic, I bolted. I heard a noise, and looking up I saw that I wasn’t the only one with the same idea; there was a horse drawn wagon shooting right at me.

In a moment when you have a fraction of a second to make a decision, instinct and in this case, muscle memory kicks in, and I made a quick cut to my left as though avoiding an oncoming free safety in the secondary of a broken field. I could easily have touched the wagon as it flew past and its driver, just as surprised as I was yelled, “Sorry man!” as he made his perilous left turn….

So… why not Pennsylvania Dutch?

With all of that said, I must report that as of Monday morning, I am already behind the 8-ball. You see, we planned on doing the shopping for this week on Saturday, but we never made it. Friday night a major winter storm went through the area, and the winds howled and the snow fell from roughly 8 pm Friday until about noon on Saturday. When we emerged from the house on Saturday afternoon, it was to begin the fun task of clearing away enough snow and ice… and broken tree branches, to get out for church on Sunday, after which we had a prior commitment. Hopefully we will traverse the ice and get to the market tonight.

Losing a day of prep time is a bit of a setback, but I still have an “ace in the hole” because on Wednesday afternoon, my son is coming in from Chicago; did I mention that he is a chef? Yep, we might just put Chef Brian to work when he arrives just like old times…

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

