7 comments on “The Problem with Thanksgiving Dinners- Redux

  1. Well, Don, I want to thank you. It’s 6:30 AM and you have me starving for Thanksgiving Dinner with all the trimmings. I have to tell you though I am a hard liner when it comes to traditional Thanksgiving Day Dinner. Now for three days nothing is going to satisfy my stomach until we reach Thursday mid-afternoon….. smiling.

    To me tradition is a means of staying in touch with those who have passed before us. I am one who fears breaking traditions as Thanksgiving and Christmas Day gathers will leave us where we can never go back and have the once great feeling of still having Grandma & Grandpa there at the table. The changing of one dish is a disconnect with the past; I am afraid you can not go back after that and tradition is broken and a new one formed. The feeling of Thanksgiving and Christmas is laid in the tradition of family gathering and the expectation of passing alone to your sons and daughter and their sons and daughters what helped form our family from times well passed.

    Just let me know what time Dinner is and I’ll be there, Don. Happy Thanksgiving.

    May the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob bless you and your family.

    Michael

  2. Thank you for putting the truly eccentric (but harmless) back into the USA! You have just done your country a great service at this moment in history! 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Problem with Thanksgiving Dinners- Redux — The Life Project | preachtruthyoumoron

  4. Ha! This is classic. We’ve never had a “traditional” Thanksgiving dinner at my house. One year, we had baked spaghetti, another year, Chinese chicken wings. This year, Granddaddy’s having it catered, so it’ll be interesting. I’m sure your dinner will be awesome. And you can never go wrong with sweet potato (not pumpkin) pie! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  5. Give me Jambalaya and Chicken, sausage, and shrimp gumbo for Thanksgiving and I will be a happy camper. Don’t forget the garlic bread.

    And…by the way, Sweet Tater pie is sooooo much better than that ole nasty pumpkin pie.

Leave a Reply

