The Day is Here… Redux

…and with all that has gone on the last few days, the big dinner will be like a Sunday stroll in the park; easy money!

Of course the arrival of Chef Brian assures that; he has half and I have half, and I will say this is a luxury I haven’t had before.

I’ve also thought a bit more about what I posted yesterday; yep, I think there is a metaphor in all of this… and a lesson to be learned… but alas, I must be getting off to the real business of cooking a 20 pound beast right about now. I’ll be starting the fun by running outside and getting a bunch of fresh sage from the back yard, now that enough snow has melted to get at it. I was amazed several years ago to discover that fresh sage is at its tastiest after it has been buried in snow… as long as the temperature hasn’t dropped below 20 degrees, so this should be perfect. If you’re wondering why 20 degrees… that is about the point where the leaves die, at least in my yard. It hasn’t gotten quite that cold yet, and yesterday the bush looked very healthy, so that snow is working out to be a good thing after all. Yet, another storm is at hand, so I’m getting out there before it starts… see you later today, and good luck to all of you cooks out there!

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

