Random Ramblings: December 3, 2016

mht5yqw-lp

This is one of those days when I don’t have anything all that pressing to write about, maybe I’m still suffering the after effects of a vacation in the tropics. Of course I came home just in time for the start, later than usual, of winter weather in my area. In fact, we’re expecting our first snow of the season for tomorrow morning; oh joy.

At a time such as this I’m reminded of Paul Harvey who, on certain Saturday programs used to say something like, “since we are in between acute world crises, let’s catch up on things that usually get lost in all the clutter…”

Of course there is the news from yesterday about a certain (idiotic) Congressman who is introducing a Constitutional Amendment to abolish the Electoral College, but do I really want to acknowledge such stupidity today?

No, I’m really not in the mood… I’ll just say that if you think the California, New York and Chicago should be making all of the decisions in America, this is the idea for you.

Maybe what really has my little mind boggled today is that it seems, as unlikely as it is, that Christmastime has arrived; I’m being pressured to go down to the basement and drag up the decorations, and my wife is tuning into the all Christmas music all the time stations…

Didn’t we just finish Christmas? Shouldn’t there be a baseball game on TV today? Where did the time go?

You know what? I have the voice of my father somewhere in the back of my mind… very faint and far off… telling a very young me that when I get older time will fly by. Does this mean I’m “older” now? Wasn’t he about 500 years old when he told me that?

Well, to a little kid, Dad’s are pretty ancient.

It seems like everything moves so much faster now; days fly by, except in airports of course.

To be perfectly honest, I’m really not sure who it is that thinks all this time flying by stuff is such a good idea, nor am I so sure that snow tomorrow is a very good idea… I think I’m going to be in favor of “global warming” from now on; yeah, that’s it. Let’s promote global warming and then at least we won’t have snow… then I can get out of dragging all of that Christmas stuff up from the basement; it’ll be summer all the time. Let’s see, what would I have to do to make the weather warmer tomorrow…? If only I could figure that out, I could tell everyone in town what to do, and then men everywhere could get out of dragging the Christmas stuff up from their basements; I’d be a hero!

Oh crap. You know what I just did? I came up with an idea that is even stupider than getting rid of the Electoral College. Yeah, like I can change the weather…

I guess I’d better get down to the basement, or I’ll be doing serious time in the doghouse.

8 thoughts on “Random Ramblings: December 3, 2016”

  1. I have a better idea. We should celebrate Christmas every day of the year, because we are celebrating the Gift which keeps on giving, Jesus Christ, Emmanuel, God with us. The Incarnation was what made all if it possible.

  2. What I have never understood are world-wide conferences on global warming. Everyone flying from their home, traveling to/from the airport in luxury vehicles, plus the retinue and press corps that follows. If you really believed in GW, and were concerned about increasing the effect, wouldn’t it be more enviro friendly to have a skype conference?

  3. After being laid off and losing everything a few years ago, decorating for Christmas just sort of went away as other things became more important, more possible, even! We haven’t decorated now for 6 years. And, previous missives aside, I do miss the memories of earlier years. But we also find ourselves less pressured prior to the holidays to “do everything” and less depressed after, having to take it all down.

    Snow? Think of it as God’s Band-Aid for winter. Bare tress and bleak landscapes look better covered in white! 🙂

Leave a Reply

