15 comments on “The Most Graphic Messianic Prophecy

  1. Pingback: The Most Graphic Messianic Prophecy — The Life Project | Ms. Shada Burks/ Self Published Author

  2. In all my years of reading the Psalms, I never realized that Psalm 22 was written about Jesus Christ. I am so thankful that you are wise and knowledgeable and that you wrote this. Thank you so much, Don.

  3. Hi Don

    Wow. It struck me when you said that is often left out of Messianic prophecies. I have always heard it preached as one..it never even occurred to me that some might not think of it as such.

    Interesting.

  4. Sorry, I misread your comment about the 700 years. I had originally thought that you meant it was written 700 years before the crucifixion of Jesus, but you rather meant 700 years before crucifixion was employed as a method of execution (am I correct?). I’ve just googled it and, according to Herodotus , a Persian general was crucified by the Athenians ca. 479 BCE. Just thought you’d like to know (Wikipedia). All the best for Christmas.

  5. It was in the back of my mind as I wrote my most recent post, (Christmas IS Compassion) even though I had not read yours. One of my favorite cantata songs from earlier in life was The Shadow Of The Cross, sung by our choir as part of a Christmas cantata. I think one soloist was the pastor who wedded us in 1985. Awesome man of God. Wonderful voice too.

  6. Pingback: The Most Graphic Messianic Prophecy | The Life Project | franciscansonthemountains

  7. Pingback: The Daily Discovery (December 23, 2016) - Entreating Favor

  8. Isn’t this a scary psalm! It’s like the missing internal dialogue from the Gospel accounts of Jesus’ crucifixion. Knowing Psalm 22, I can’t help being even further impressed and grateful for His heroism, His Love!

    The other thing that has always struck me is that Psalm 23 – content-wise – comes immediately after. Fulfillment!

  9. Psalm 22 is one of my favorites. Last year when we were doing our yearly study leading up to Easter I stumbled on it and read it to my husband and son (who was new to the faith). It struck such a cord with all of us. Especially since in David’s day crucifixion wasn’t a method used, Yet he described it so vividly it could only have been a prophecy fro God that let him see and feel it. I both wept reading it as did my son and my husband who was not yet a follower of Jesus pondered it deeply, mulling it over, along with other prophecies and soon he too gave his heart to the Lord. Thanks for sharing this beautiful, heart wrenching, amazing prophecy with your readers, I pray it touches other lives as it has touched ours.

Leave a Reply

