Random Ramblings: January 17, 2017

Readers’ Advisory: This post is political, no holds barred and plainly written. If you don’t want to read such things, or if you are faint of heart, please discontinue now, and I’ll see you next time!

OK, let’s get this out of the way right now: I totally forgot to write this column last Saturday. There were no reasons, and there are no excuses, I simply forgot. Was this a “senior moment” on my part? Ha! A young kid like me? Perish the thought!

Very early this morning I was writing my normal posts on Luke for tomorrow, and the text was Luke 6:27 ff. on loving your enemies. As I was writing these posts, I couldn’t help but think of all of the noise we keep hearing from all of the Trump-haters out there. I had just been listening to the news on the radio, and they were reporting on the latest round of vitriol, hatred and ugliness, and of course, we also have the fake news stories, the protests, the Anarchists promising to stop the Inauguration of Friday with their threats of violence…

It was quite a contrast with Jesus’ teaching about loving your enemy and doing unto others as you would they should do unto you.

I couldn’t help remembering how many times some of these very same people have lectured all of us on civility and tolerance, calling us “hate-mongers” in the process… oh the hypocrisy!!

In all of this toxicity, I see one possible silver lining…

You must understand that I have spent many years in and around National politics, and I have had dealings directly and indirectly with many of these same people many times over the years: I know what they are like, and have felt personally their wrath on several occasions. This is nothing new for me or for anyone who has been in the game. Yet more than any time in my memory, they have taken off their masks publically so that everyone can see who and what they are: Vicious, mean-spirited, vitriolic, vindictive liars, the very Leadership of the Democratic Party.

There, I said it.

Yes, that is exactly what they are, and I pray for them.

Would you care to know why they are so hysterical that they are willing to let the entire world see them as they really are?

Donald Trump, a man whose fan I am not and I’ve said that here before, is a man who is known for getting things done. He has surrounded himself with non-politicians who are also known for solving problems and getting things done. They are about to go into office to get things done, and nothing is more terrifying to a politician, especially a left wing politician, than outsiders coming into town to fix problems.

Nothing!

The far left, and I’m sorry to say it, but the Democratic Party is run by the far left, never fixes problems; they preserve issues.

Oh, they are very good at making speeches about problems and promising to fix problems, but their first priority is on preserving their issues so they can use their issues to hammer the GOP every election cycle. Fix a problem? Never, at least not unless they can fix something so as to make a bigger problem. Obama care is a good example of that. Did we have a problem before? Yes we did, and now we have a bigger problem.

Of course they’ll say that obviously the bigger problem is due to Republican interference, and now they want to take your Healthcare away from you!!!

Then they send out the fundraising letters and rake in the cash. That’s how the game works. I’m sure you have heard these guys say that they are “calling attention” to something. That’s how you know they are about to drop a national solicitation for contributions; it really is that simple. Here’s an example of how this works: Let’s say you are a Veterans issue activist. If the new Administration comes in and fixed the problems Veterans have with the VA, who needs your activism anymore? The money will go away, and so will your job: A nightmare scenario!

So you get your whole bag of tricks out and scream bloody murder: Trump must be stopped… Trump is illegitimate… Trump is a Russian shill… Trump is Satan… Does that help Vets? No, but it keeps you in business if it works. You see, not only must they preserve their issues for Election Day; they must preserve their issues to stay in business.

So then, will America finally wake up to how things have been done in Washington for 50 years and put these hypocrites out of their jobs?

It’s a slim hope at best, but as the new year moves on, hope springs eternal.

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Random Ramblings: January 17, 2017

  1. BelleUnruh says:

    Sorry, but I don’t need Democrats to tell me Trump is uneducated, cruel and a hypocrite. I’ve heard it from his own mouth on Twitter and in his speeches.

    The Democrats are unrecognizable from the party I admired as a young woman. Like the Republicans they have been bought by corporations. That is who runs America and the world now. Neither candidate deserved the Presidency, in my view. I like a man like Bernie Sanders.

  2. While your analysis of the incoming president may be overly optimistic, one point stands out (and will be the subject for my inauguration day post): Christians need to be obedient and pray for our leaders, as Scripture mandates. And nowhere does it say only to pray for those we like!

  3. I agree with your thoughts. You might like to look at my political comments in my post today. May God bless America!

  4. Thank you Mr. President. Class family, good kids, a functional family.

  5. Mr Trump now requires a face to face interview between every Australian planning to visit America and the appropriate person in the American Embassy. He has also put a spoke in the wheel of a trade agreement that had been finalised – it is quite worrying that he believes he is President of more than just the USA.

    Thank you for your very mild growl Mr Merritt

  6. Reblogged this on godsworldandus and commented:
    This is well said!

Leave a Reply

