Inauguration Day Reflections

CAP 007

When I think of presidential inaugurations, so many things come to mind. Of course first and foremost is the peaceful transfer of power from one Administration to another, the hallmark of our Republican system of government, the pride of our Nation. There are also so many memorable phrases from the past…

“With malice toward none and charity for all…”

“…the only thing we have to fear is fear itself…”

“Ask not what your country can do for you; ask what you can do for your country.”

And there are personal memories as well. I will never forget that cold day in 1981 when Ronald Reagan declared a “new beginning” or in 2001 when I was so sick with the flu that I was flat on my back in bed instead of my freezing cold seat on the platform…

Even now, when someone asks something like, “when was that…?” My first response is to measure time by the president: “Oh that was early in the Johnson Administration…”

Pretty bad, eh?

No matter how you might want to look at these things, the beginning of a new presidency is the beginning of a new era of sorts; full of promise, and excitement… and sometimes a level of uneasiness as well.

Maybe that depends on whether or not your favorite candidate is being sworn in that day.

I remember well my feelings about the Inauguration 8 years ago; I was pessimistic about the future. Mr. Obama ran on a campaign of platitudes in 2008; they sounded wonderful, but there were no specifics or particulars. To be fair, in a presidential race, there really isn’t room for a great number of specifics, but that year there were far fewer than usual, and the platitudes were spoken in a code I know well, the code of the far left. Sure enough, that’s how he tried to govern.

This time around, the new president is quite different. If nothing else, it will be fascinating to observe his actions and the way his rhetoric plays out in policy. Yet, I don’t know whether or not this will turn out to be a good thing or a bad thing; I hope and pray it’s good. All of this makes for an exciting day!

I do know for certain that it is long past the time when the BS needs to stop.

I’m referring to the silly remarks made by so many of Mr. Trump’s opponents; aren’t you folks tired of making fools of yourselves? Do you seriously think we will forget your several weeks of tantrums? It’s time to act like Statesmen and women and get to work solving the country’s problems.

I pray that each of us will follow God’s lead as we move forward as a Nation; united in our love of country, rather than divided along petty partisan lines. I pray that we will place our trust in God’s Providence and not in mere frail humans, and that above all, we will strive to achieve His purpose, and not the purposes of mere men, and that in all things we will conduct ourselves in a way that magnifies and glorifies our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Inauguration Day Reflections

  1. Tom says:

    No matter what happens–ALL things work out for the good of those who love and are called by God.

  2. In a short time, whatever the President does will be background noise as I scramble to make dinner for the family (wife gets off work at six) during NBC Nightly News. When home on a Sunday morning, replace Meet The Press with a Premier League match. The Donald will not directly effect my life as Obama, Bush(s), Clinton, Reagan, or Carter did. This is the ultimate apples and oranges. World leaders cannot guarantee heaven, God does.

  3. Don, on the one hand you say, “I do know for certain that it is long past the time when the BS needs to stop.” On the other hand, you say, “Do you seriously think we will forget your several weeks of tantrums?”

    I think it’s time to forgive and forget; to embrace a new beginning; to pray for our new President, as you said, “united in our love of country, rather than divided along petty partisan lines.” I pray we will all forgive and forget petty offenses so we can all move forward in unity.

    • Don Merritt says:

      I completely agree with you Susan. Yet I’ll go one step further: That is the sentiment that was appropriate for November 9th forward. Those elected “leaders” who have done everything possible to sow discord, division and who have done everything possible to de-legitimize their opponents these many weeks should be voted out at the earliest possible moment. There is nothing personal or unkind about this; they have misused their offices in their positions and abused the public trust.

      At least that’s how I see it.

  4. GP Cox says:

    Finally – a post of reason instead of ranting! Thank you!

  5. photojaq says:

    Amen. Preach it brother! 🙂

  6. A sad day indeed. I will miss Obama.

  7. I was at Inauguration and I loved how our Messiah Jesus was glorified by the speakers and our new President. Franklin Graham commented that it rain when President began speaking, and it did. He said rain was a blessing from God. I felt the Holy Spirit moving during the ceremony.

  8. I also liked how one of the pastors quoted MATTHEW 5 during the ceremony. “God blesses you when people mock you and persecute you and lie about you and say all sorts of evil things against you because you are my followers. 12 Be happy about it! Be very glad! For a great reward awaits you in heaven.”

  9. Pieter Stok says:

    Don, as an outsider looking in, I endorse your call for unity but I am still very uneasy with the lack of humility and statesmanship displayed by the new president. Time will tell. Most importantly, God is still on His thrown.

    • Don Merritt says:

      You’re right Pieter, time will tell. I’ve never been one of Mr. Trump’s fans, and the concepts of statesmanship and humility left the Oval Office with Mr. Bush. Even so, this will be interesting as it plays out… and God will still be on His throne in four years.

  10. Ron Whited says:

    Don,I am also no fan of Mr. Trump. Nor have I been of the past several administrations. This election was unique in several ways,not the least of which there was no clearly conservative candidate.
    Far more important than that however is that for the first time in my life I have witnessed rioting in the streets over who won the presidency.
    What is most frightening though is that the party that lost has actually encouraged this activity. This would include the previous president,whi seems to have forgotten that we are all in this together.
    The next four years will be interesting to say the least. I would be very nervous except for the fact that I know the One who still pilots the ship.

  11. Amen! A brilliant blog. Thanks. God is in control. Only He knows the future. But I, too, am fatigued by all the negative press surrounding President Trump – starting even before the poor man took office!

Leave a Reply

