Morning’s Stillness

tumblr_mcyq3fzL4x1qdzrhdo1_500

Give ear to my words, O Lord,
    consider my sighing.
Listen to my cry for help,
    my King and my God,
    for to you I pray.
In the morning, O Lord, you hear my voice;
    in the morning I lay my requests before you
    and wait in expectation.

Psalm 5:1-3

There is something special about the stillness of the early morning; I can’t quite put it into words…

The new day is still fresh like virgin snow; nothing has stained it yet.  My mind is still clear and as yet not influenced by negative things; nobody is complaining or angry, it’s just peaceful all around. It seems to me to be a time when God is close at hand, and since He seems right there it’s the perfect time to speak to Him in prayer.

Speaking with God in prayer first thing in the morning is a great way to start each day, the day usually seems to go better when I spend time in His presence first thing; the hassles and cares of this world are easier to deal with and seem to be better prioritized.  Clearly, the still of the new morning is a time to be with God!

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Morning’s Stillness

  1. Yes it is. I love to rise early in the morning to walk the dogs. Before anyone else is awake. Then once they are fed God and I can get down tobusiness.

  2. Habakuki Peter says:

    Thankyousomuchforthislessoniamblessed

  3. dwmartens says:

    Though I’ve noted this poem before, it says so much to me of what I hear being said in this post:
    http://www.earnestlycontending.com/KT/Poems/GI/ImetGod.html

  4. So simple. The Psalmist prays and lays his requests down before the Lord. Then, he waits in expectation. If only we would lay our requests before the Lord and rest in the knowledge that He will take care of those requests, and all we need to do is wait on the Lord. Such peace. Thank you for your post. Many blessings. Karen

  5. lindamowles says:

    Thanks for this post, and for the beautiful picture. Blessings to you today.

  6. Pingback: Morning’s Stillness – Br Andrew's Muses

Leave a Reply

