Like a Lost Coin

“Or suppose a woman has ten silver coins and loses one. Doesn’t she light a lamp, sweep the house and search carefully until she finds it?  And when she finds it, she calls her friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost coin.’  In the same way, I tell you, there is rejoicing in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.”

Luke 15:8-10

Jesus quickly moved on to the next parable, this time of a woman who loses one of her ten coins. She drops everything and searches the house until she finds it, and then tells her friends of her joy at having it back. Once again He tells that that it is just like this kind of joy in heaven when a sinner repents, for just as that coin was of great importance to the woman, it was ten percent of her savings after all, it is so important to the angels of heaven. I would imagine that the Pharisees and teachers of the law might identify with this one, being rather well-to-do; imagine searching the house for ten percent of your net worth that has gone missing!

If this would get their attention, it just might serve as a revelation to them about the value that God places on each person, even those who are “tax collectors and sinners”. As we know, this term describes people the Pharisees didn’t much care for. Yet it was more visceral than just not caring for or enjoying their company for the Pharisees wouldn’t even want to be seen with such people because they were considered so ultra-nasty socially.

Oh yes, such people were so ultra-nasty that you would be damaged even being seen around them: Yuk!

But God loves them anyway and does not want even one to perish!

I wonder: Are there such social outcasts today; people who we would feel dirty just being near, or people whose company would cause others to look down on us for being in?

Even if “they” repented and followed Jesus, heaven would rejoice more that it does for you and me, so great is God’s love for them. How does that strike you?

Jesus had another parable coming…

7 thoughts on “Like a Lost Coin”

  1. How often we see others as lost sheep and berate them rather than helping them into, or back to, the Shephard’s flock! (Or, help them into the treasury — in keeping more with this parable’s theme)

  2. The oddest thing happened as I was reading your post , Don (with a not very focused mind to be honest). He popped “10%” and the word “whole” around my thoughts. And almost without any thought at all this followed –

    “It is not 10% of my worth, it 10% of my wholeness. Those 10% you deem too sinful to welcome, too “not what the bible says” I like around me, too unclean to be seen (with you) … They are my whole – they are my 10%. They are not a missing coin or a number of worth simply to be found and counted. They are me and you. Without my “10%” I am not whole. And without my 10% … are you whole?”

    No more words from me except Thank You.

Leave a Reply

