Random Ramblings: March 11, 2017

This morning I heard on the radio that this is “spring forward” weekend in the US. I had forgotten all about it until now…

I’m so thrilled.

OK, let’s be real: Who though this was a good idea?

Why don’t I move to Arizona where the people are smart enough to not participate in such foolishness?

Let me think…

The railroads came up with railroad time back in the day so railroad schedules would work, and all of the railroads would use the same time. That part makes sense. Then the politicians got involved and decided the government needs to say what time is, and made railroad time the law. And then some politician wanted his name in the paper and came up with “daylight savings time” and conned his pals into voting for it, and gave us “spring forward” and “fall back”.

I don’t mind “fall back” weekend so much…

I have an idea, why don’t we just “fall back” twice a year, and never “spring forward”? Think about it: you’d gain two hours every year added to your life; you’d live longer! Just think of the headlines for the politician who gets that passed, they could call it “The Life Extension Act of 2017”.

What? Yeah, uh huh… Seriously? You really think mine is a stupid idea? Really? Can you really tell me that my idea is any stupider than daylight savings time? Surely not!

Fine, OK you win… I’ll forget my idea. Want a better one? Let’s just get rid of daylight saving and let the time be the time and not try to fool with it any more.

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Random Ramblings: March 11, 2017

  1. Russ P. says:

    Amen brother. I dislike DST very much. It feels unnatural. I’m with you…let’s keep the time, the same time all year long.

  2. First of all …thanks for reminding me! I totally forgot. Next, what a great post to read in the middle of so much “other” stuff. Thanks. This was great!

  3. I never liked the concept, but then GWB had to come along and make DST even longer. My son lives in Arizona, my wife is constantly confused as to whether he is 2 hours off or 3. Yeah, dumbest idea ever.

    I always heard that it was so school kids didn’t have to walk in the dark…why not just start school an hour later?

  4. pipermac5 says:

    Thank you for the reminder! Actually, I got a reminder from my church earlier this week, but as usual, it went in one eye and bounced right back out. (I only have usable-vision in one eye)

    Blessings

  5. peggywright says:

    I am with you wholeheartedly.

  6. There was a quiz about it this morning and the correct reason why was for “Energy Conservation “.

  7. I just rang into your post and enjoyed it. Especially the part – “The Life Extension Act of 2017”. But then the lights came on in the midst of me laughing. The Life Extension Act has already gotten the green light and been in effect since the moment Yeshua HaMashiyach hang on the cross. I’m delighted to be apart of this. Thank the LORD for bringing it into effect. Thank you so much for the humour 😀. Now I just gave you an idea for a post. If you can’t run with it, please let me know. 😀

Leave a Reply

