Plans, Travel and Plenty of Work to be Done

Over the past several weeks I have found myself pretty heavily distracted by things that are going on in my life… Here’s what I mean:

My Mom is 93 going on 94 and although she is in amazing health she has come to the realization that it’s about time for her to sell her house and move in with us so as to avoid things like housework and cooking, not to mention driving and so forth; I’m sure that many of you have been through this same sort of thing.

I guess that all sounds simple enough, but at least in our case there are a few extra complications. We live in Illinois; she lives in California. We have a wonderful “mother-in-law’s quarters” in our house in Illinois. Sadly however, it is on the third floor, and at 93 stairs are a bit of a problem, so not only must we sell her house in California, but we must also sell ours in Illinois, and find one in which stairs won’t be an issue, and in this part of the world, that’s a tall order.

Oh, did I mention that I am one of those unwise people who bought at the top of the market, just a year before the crash?

Prices haven’t rebounded yet in this part of the world… Oh My!

For the last couple of weeks I have had painters and construction people through here almost every day sprucing things up in hopes to minimize our losses, and I’ve been trying to get the spring cleaning done out in the yard which isn’t an easy task during a time of year where it rains 4 or 5 days each week, almost like some kind of a plot to keep me from finishing up.

Now it’s time for me to head west and get to work on her house, so off I go. For the next week or two we will be going through closets and storage to thin things out and get her ready to move and her house put on the market. Fortunately out in California the market has recovered and by all accounts is moving fairly quickly and we don’t foresee any great difficulties selling her home of 30 years… which means we really need to find the right place back here in the next few weeks so she’ll have a place to live when her house sells… and so I can have two mortgages to pay.

Fun!

To be honest with you, dear reader, this situation would probably make me crazy, except for the fact that I know that God is working in this somewhere and that at just the right time He will have a new place for us to go and a buyer for our house and everything will work out just fine unless I get crazy and try to force my own timetable into the situation and get mess everything up.

Yes, I must admit I’m tempted just to take charge and force my way ahead, but experience tells me that tends to be the wrong move.

God is in charge, not Don.

So why am I telling you this now?

Because I will be 2,000 miles from my work station for the next two weeks. However, I’m sure I’ll have tales to tell when I return, and who knows I might be able to check in a time or two. In the meantime, wish me luck and I’ll see you in a couple of weeks!

Anybody looking for an historic Victorian in NW Illinois? Such a deal I will make!

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Plans, Travel and Plenty of Work to be Done

  1. Bette Cox says:

    Listen carefully to the Lord at every stage, Don! Be blessed and a blessing to all sorts of other people you’re going to be meeting (and maybe needing) as you work through all this. 🙂

  2. jessicamaymoore says:

    God’s speed and blessings.

  3. God will bring just the right people into your life as you need them. And then, when the time comes to buy He will be there in the home He has picked out for you, filling it with His Holy Spirit, and He will welcome you and your family home. Enjoy the ride.

  4. Barbara Lane says:

    Paul and I will be praying for you while you are gone – and for God’s guidance in all of this.

  5. How very precious…God will honor your taking care of your mom (two become one)! Can’t wait to read the stories!!! Remember faith, not sight. 🙂

  6. tellthetruth1 says:

    Know the feeling mate! (Almost). Sadly, my hubby died a few weeks ago, so everything to do with that is still happening. Then there was the disability buggy I managed to finally buy about a fortnight ago, so I now have “new legs” that work! And I could soon be moving meself.

    Life will never be boring, will it. If we are weak, He is our strength. I can’t wait to find out how He walked you through all of this. I feel as if I’m being carried for a change, and that is amazing. It isn’t amazing to God, tho’. He’s our Father and ‘knows it all’! I’m thankful I can leave it at that and just live to thank Him. Take care, you and yours. Will ya write about your new home eventually? Much love in the Lord.

  7. Wally Fry says:

    Prayers for you in this, Don.

  8. gaustin00 says:

    Been there, done that. Bought at the top of the market, finally, after 8 yrs and renters (I digress) we have finally sold Mother’s and Sister’s house. May you have better luck than we did, Florida prices are not yet rebounding. God speed! Be looking for you when you return.

  9. The Lord’s timing is perfect. Looking forward to the testimony, Don!

Leave a Reply

