Random Ramblings: June 10, 2017

My oh my it has been a while since I’ve posted!

Quite a lot has happened in these parts since I set off to Southern California to get my Mom’s house ready to put on the market; I suppose I could call that little trip a success for if getting her house sold was the goal, I succeeded. After several days of cleaning, painting, yard work and nagging, her house went on the market May 25th, I began the long train ride back to Illinois on the 26th, and on the 28th while I was still on the train, the Realtor called to tell me that she had a full price offer…

The result is that she needs to be out by July 15.

Upon returning home, I knew that we had to scramble so that she would have a place to end up in mid July so my wife and I began searching for a home to buy in this area and we finally found one that would work for us in nearby Clinton, Iowa; our offer was accepted this past Monday and that one is scheduled to close on June 26.

I’ve always heard that the Midwestern United States is called “America’s Breadbasket” because it is such a prolific area for agriculture, particularly grains like wheat, oats, barley and corn. Indeed, when we drive a little distance from town there are cornfields as far as the eye can see in any direction, but I’ve never needed to deal with corn, other than driving through the countryside, but I can attest to the fact that this is the most prolific place I’ve ever encountered for growing weeds, and it has taken me a couple of weeks to get caught up with the weeds that popped up in my flowerbeds during the two weeks of my trip to California… it is simply amazing how fast they grow here in the early summer.

You might have noticed that I haven’t mentioned anything about having sold my current house; that won’t happen very quickly I’m sad to say, but at least the new one doesn’t have very many flower beds to grow weeds in.

So now I have two weeks before we close on the new place after which I need to get an electrician ASAP to convert the electrical from a 60 amp panel to a 100 amp panel so that it can be insured, and then it’s off once again to California to get my Mom’s place cleaned out and packed up for the moving van, a journey I am truly not looking forward to for several reasons. I’ll most likely drop in a note here and there to tell the story. In the meantime, I will be more or less taking the summer off from blogging. I’m thinking that I will return to my regular programming sometime in mid August, September 1st at the latest, Good Lord willing.

Until then I hope everyone will have a great summer, filled with joy in the presence of our Lord.

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Random Ramblings: June 10, 2017

  1. Bette Cox says:

    It’s good to have an update from you Don. I pray that just the right person at just the right time will come along to buy your old house, at just the right price! Also for you to have wisdom, safety, and good health as you travel back and forth, and that all the details will work out well as your family and Mom make this transition. 🙂

  2. Good to hear from you. Will be praying for the Lord to guide you in all that is still ahead of you.

  3. gaustin00 says:

    wow, a lot on your plate. I want to just say journey’s mercies but having walked this road some years back know the struggles —emotional, physical, etc. May the Lord sustain you in this time and we will look forward to your return full of many interesting stories to encourage us as you do always.

  4. Wally Fry says:

    All the best in this, Don

  5. vw1212 says:

    God’s blessing with all the traveling. Hope everything goes well. vw

  6. Melissa Presser, Lover of Jesus says:

    Will miss your words friend, hope you won’t be a total stranger!

  7. DGHDelgado says:

    Don, Rest when you can.

  8. It’s good to have an update, Don. God bless you as you move – never an easy thing to do – and packing up two homes into one is a challenge. Looking forward to hearing from you in the spring (SA spring that is). Be kind to yourselves.

  9. Always praying Don! Look upon this as an adventure and a season of refreshing. When you travel, it ALWAYS helps with perspective!! God bless you and yours, my brother!

Leave a Reply

