Where Have I Gone??

I have been absent from these precincts for longer than I had hoped when I set off for California back in June, of course when I began my summer offline period I had no idea I was beginning an odyssey of sorts. The funny thing is that it really didn’t start off like that…

When I headed West, I was going there to pack up my Mom’s house move her household goods to the Midwest along with her and move all of us into a “new” house in Clinton, Iowa. Having sold our Rock Island, Illinois home to an all cash buyer with a short escrow, I was a bit under the gun to get things wrapped up and complete the move, and in my pocket was a rather ambitious to do list. I couldn’t help noticing that there were certain people who seemed to have the notion that I was setting out to do the impossible but I wasn’t concerned, after all this was just a project like any other; you plan your steps in a logical order, you execute the plan, and everything turns out just fine: no big deal.

And that was exactly how it worked out; I finished my work in California two days early and we loaded up the moving van and shipped the household goods east under budget…

The next hurdle was driving from Southern California to NW Illinois with my 93-year-old Mom. Some thought that would be too much for her, but she rose to the occasion and we arrived here ahead of schedule; it was a breeze. Yet during my time in California, one or two little problems arose in Illinois. The first one came up when our all cash buyer ran into the deadline for verifying their funds; they didn’t have any money and our sale fell apart. The second one came up when it was discovered that last year’s raccoon invasion caused more damage to our home’s air conditioning ducts that anyone realized and we had to have an HVAC contractor take up the floorboards on our home’s third floor to repair a duct. Of course all work stopped when they actually discovered a dead raccoon in the duct…

To make a long story short, it took three weeks for them to complete a one day job, and when they put the floor back, they couldn’t make it all fit, and I still have three holes in the floor and everyone who looks at it scratches their head and says, “Wow, I’m not sure what to do about that.”

Meanwhile the Clinton, Iowa house closed on schedule without a hitch and the movers came 2 days ahead of schedule with my Mom’s stuff. As I knew would happen, some of her furniture didn’t quite fit and had to be placed in the garage, but all-in-all things went smoothly, and I had roughly 40 cartons of stuff she can’t possibly live without placed into the basement for sorting after we move in.

We bought this house at a very low price because it needed some work; oh yes, this is where the fun begins. Right at this moment, I’m sitting at my keyboard trying to think of a funny way to tell this part of the story, but so far, I’m not thinking funny thoughts.

I think maybe I’ll think some more time and continue my little story in a second post; I hope to see you then!

About Don Merritt

A long time teacher and writer, Don hopes to share his varied life's experiences in a different way with a Christian perspective.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Where Have I Gone??

  1. jessicamaymoore says:

    Welcome back!

  2. Elihu says:

    Yikes! What an adventure! Since 1999 I’ve moved 11 times and I can’t think of one time in which there wasn’t a hiccup! Hang in there my friend and I hope everything smooths out for you.

  3. A suggestion about the floorboards. I do woodworking on the side (at least until arthritis hit me), and while woodworkers usually don’t do floors they do have a different perspective on the task. You might look around for a custom woodworker and ask them to take a look at the problem. While they may not be able to fix it, they may see a solution that the carpenters doing the job don’t see.

  4. Bette Cox says:

    I know it’s not really funny, Don, but some of it is really familiar! Reminder – nothing that happens was or is a surprise to the Lord, he knew about it in advance and had / has a plan! 🙂

  5. Welcome back to the ether (?) Don. I was wondering how you were doing. Hope the second instalment turns out better than you imagine. Looking forward to seeing your photos of the week when you are settled. It’s great to see everyday US scenes rather than the glossy tv and media pics. I have learnt a lot about life in the US from your posts on life as it is lived. God bless you in your new home.

  6. Bette Cox says:

    Addendum: Of course, His plans and ours don’t always jive… at first…

  7. Wally Fry says:

    Welcome back, Don! After moving around the country and even the world for lots of years, I can only say that 10 years ago I moved to the last place I plan to be. Of course, God might change that, but I honestly pray He won’t.

Leave a Reply

